Partitioning question about upcoming Mint/XP dual boot

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
rlindsey0

Partitioning question about upcoming Mint/XP dual boot

Post by rlindsey0 »

Hi, I'm a newbie, but I've been playing around with various distros on live CD and have decided that I want to dual-boot Mint on this new XP Pro laptop I got (Asus Z84J, 2 GB, T7200 2 GHz processor, 200 GB 7200 RPM, Intel 4965agn wireless, NVidia Go 7700). The main reason I'm keeping XP is that I'm a musician, and the recording program I prefer is not available on Linux. Most of the other stuff I do is just office and Web, and Mozilla and OO on Mint ought to work well enough for that, I'd think. I haven't done the Mint install yet, but I will shortly, and I wanted to try and resolve a couple of questions before I do.

So, to the questions.

1. In playing around with Compiz on the various distros, I find I love the eye candy. Call me shallow, but there it is. Yet there seem to be some posts in which Compiz doesn't play nice with NVidia. Is there some way I can have Compiz, or something equivalent, and yet not have trouble with my NVidia card? Is it a matter of just using generic drivers and not using Envy to install the proprietary NVidia drivers? Or will I be OK either way?