Help me i'm really a newbie in linux mint

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Help me i'm really a newbie in linux mint

Postby windrift on Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:57 am

Hi im really a newbie here in Linux mint can someone help me how to get around using Linux. Im somewhat really confused switching from Xp to Linux.... Like im having trouble installing my games and applications from Windows xp to Linux. I really dont know what to do :( tnx
windrift
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Help me i'm really a newbie in linux mint

Postby Mattd4AX3 on Sun Apr 06, 2008 2:47 pm

Hey, welcome, and since you've made it as far as installation you're doing great :).

Linux, to put it lightly is a different operating system. EXE files do not work in Linux because they were coded for Windows.
Mint is based on Ubuntu, which is based on Debian Linux, so it use .deb files instead of .exe.

There are several different types of Linux, because Linux itself is just the core coding, Debian for instance takes the code, packages it up with a GUI(graphical user interface) and makes it usuable, Ubuntu customized Debian and made it even easier, and now Mint makes Ubuntu Linux almost as easy to the windows crossover.

Linux has a ton of choices, for instance, for a GUI microsoft uses windows explorer, Linux can have; KDE,Gnome, and more.

Simply put, Linux is not Windows, none of your programs will work unless they are available for Linux, being .60% of the market share kinda puts Linux on the shelf for lazy developers ;).