Compiz

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Compiz

Postby k0rfain on Thu Apr 10, 2008 6:46 pm

edit: sorry wrong thing

Code: Select all
Checking for Xgl: not present.
No whitelisted driver found
aborting and using fallback: /usr/bin/metacity

inTel
k0rfain
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Compiz

Postby sundayrefugee on Fri Apr 11, 2008 2:33 am

I'm not an expert on Compiz (hate it, actually), but IIRC, Gutsy has some trouble with Intel chipsets and Compiz, specifically blacklisting. I just remember reading about people having trouble with needlessly blacklisted chipsets, such as the 915, when I submitted an initramfs bug (and fix, which has yet to actually be implemented - bug is still there...) on launchpad. A launchpad search would probably get you the info you need, if others don't have a solution for you ;-)

Sorry I'm not more helpful, I just don't know much about Compiz :(
sundayrefugee
Level 3
Level 3

Postby k0rfain on Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:03 am

Thanks for the reply, but i find it strange that I had compiz working on gutsy before.. but now it isnt working on mint?
k0rfain
Level 1
Level 1

Postby sundayrefugee on Fri Apr 11, 2008 12:48 pm

That's interesting, but without more information, there's absolutely nothing anyone can do for you ;)
sundayrefugee
Level 3
Level 3

Postby k0rfain on Fri Apr 11, 2008 2:32 pm

Well what more info do you need?
k0rfain
Level 1
Level 1

Postby sundayrefugee on Fri Apr 11, 2008 11:39 pm

k0rfain wrote:Well what more info do you need?