Problem with apt-get behind a proxy after install

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Problem with apt-get behind a proxy after install

Postby joselipo on Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:54 pm

I have just installed Linux Mint Maya using linuxmint-13-mate-dvd-32bit.iso file

I installed it in a computer connected to a network behind a proxy but did not add proxy info during installation.
After instalation, I added proxy info in the config application. This successfully recorded the proxy info, and when I wrote $http_proxy or $ftp_proxy on the command terminal I could see the correct proxy address. However, with the proxy correctly configured, apt-get did not work, being unable to connect to any server.

However, after that, and searching for information in the web, I solved the problem creating the file /etc/apt/conf.d./30proxy and adding there the proxy info:

Acquire::http::proxy "http://IP:8080/";
Acquire::ftp::proxy "ftp://IP:8080/";
Acquire::https::proxy "https://IP:8080/";

Where "IP" is the IP of the proxy. After this, I could sucessfully update my system.

It seems that apt-get searches for proxy information in two different places, or makes in some cases mistakes acquiring the proxy information.
joselipo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem with apt-get behind a proxy after install

Postby karlchen on Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:11 pm

Hello, joselipo.

The problem may be that you configured the proxy settings in such a way that your personal environment holds all necessary environment variables pointing to the proxy address and proxy port. But user root's environment does not have the same variables set.
You may check whether this is the case by executing
Code: Select all
sudo -i
and inside the root shell
Code: Select all
env | grep -i proxy

Executing software updates will trigger root processes, though. So root needs to know your proxy settings as well.

The other problem which does exist is that not all software products honours the environment variables pointing to the proxy. There are software products which expect to find proxy names and ports inside their own configuration files.

Kind regards,
Karl
User avatar
karlchen
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3401
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], loretkata1, quokka and 38 guests