vertical refresh issue?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:21 am

When i move windows around the desktop with or without compiz it appears that the vertical lines are taking longer to refresh/ there appears to be flickering. I have the latest ATI driver installed and my x.conf looks like. Could it be to do with the the vertical refresh rate? Any suggestions would be gratefully appreciated

Section "Device"
Identifier "ATI Technologies Inc ATI Default Card"
Driver "fglrx"
Busid "PCI:5:0:0"
Option "VideoOverlay" "on"
Option "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "SyncMaster"
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "ATI Technologies Inc ATI Default Card"
Monitor "SyncMaster"
Defaultdepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Modes "1440x1440" "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1280x960" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "720x400" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Mon Apr 14, 2008 1:56 pm

It doesn't list the Vertical refresh rate, try:
Code: Select all
cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Vert

Or since you are using the proprietary ATi driver, maybe Catalyst handles this?
Anyway, the above code should return something like:
Vertrefresh 43.0 - 60.0

If it doesn't, then I'm not sure what to do, it's been ages since I last had a box with an ATi card...
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:36 pm

i inputted the command cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf | grep Vert and it returned nothing. Is it possible to manually change the vsync refresh rate?
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Mon Apr 14, 2008 4:53 pm

Have you checked Catalyst? I'm not sure how ATi configure X..
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Mon Apr 14, 2008 5:03 pm

yep checked catalyst and checked that it was set to wait for vertical refresh was set to quality...
im kicking myself now that i went with an ati card!
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Mon Apr 14, 2008 5:32 pm

I am not entirely sure what is wrong, as a practical experiment, have you tried reconfigurering X and using vesa? It might not be an optimal solution, though, as vesa has NO 3D support.
And to be honest, nVidia cards aren't that much better in Linux either, I still prefer Intel chipsets...
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Tue Apr 15, 2008 5:59 am

is there anything else that i could do? is it worth speaking to ATI as well?
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby Fred on Tue Apr 15, 2008 6:27 am

s0nicp,

You can try setting the refresh rates manually in the xorg.conf file. Look at the exert from a xorg.conf file below.

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "A70f+"
HorizSync 30 Hz-72 Hz
VertRefresh 50 Hz-150 Hz

Notice that I put a couple ranges in instead of specific values. Do Not specify values that are out of your monitors capability. Doing so will most likely damage your monitor.

You may need to make similar entries in the screen section also. In fact, if it were me I would put a range in the monitor section and experiment with a specific value setting of the VertRefresh in the screen section.

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:08 am

thanks for the suggestion Fred it is appreciated. i will try as soon as i get home and see where i get too from there
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:58 am

If you are going to edit xorg.conf, remember to backup the "working" one first:
Code: Select all
sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.confBAK

That way you you can easily restore the previous version (just "reverse" the code above)
Also, be very careful by changing the refresh rates, if you go out of range you could fry your panel.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:35 pm

it might seem like a dumb question.. i apologise. how do i get local permission to change this file
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:36 pm

Code: Select all
sudo gedit /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:33 pm

i edited the x.conf file and made the necessary changes and when i restarted it failed to pick up the gfx card and ran in safe mode. Any ideas?
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Tue Apr 15, 2008 2:54 pm

Did you backup? If you didn't, use nano to remove the changes you did:
Code: Select all
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf

Use ctrl+x to quit, press y then enter to save the changes.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Tue Apr 15, 2008 3:02 pm

yep i backed it up. So it was a lucky escape. i booted into recovery restored and then rebooted and all ok.
Do you know of any sites/books where i could learn the bash command line?
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Tue Apr 15, 2008 4:06 pm

My philosophy is learn while doing, but I heard the for dummies books are pretty good, not sure how good for bash commands though...
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby Fred on Tue Apr 15, 2008 7:28 pm

s0nicp,

Sorry that didn't work for you. But since it didn't, it pretty well ties the problem to the ati card/driver. I don't know that much about fancy graphics cards, but is there an earlier or later version driver you could try?

By-the-way MagnusB knows a lot more about fancy graphics than I do, so follow his advice and not mine. :-)

Fred
Insanity: Doing the same thing over and over and each time expecting a different result.

Democracy is 2 wolves and a lamb voting on the menu. Liberty is an armed lamb protesting the electoral outcome. A Republic negates the need for an armed protest.
User avatar
Fred
Level 10
Level 10
 
Posts: 3356
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 11:59 am
Location: NC USA

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby MagnusB on Wed Apr 16, 2008 9:41 am

How did you install the ATI driver? Envy? Have you tried removing that, and using the restricted driver manager instead?
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: vertical refresh issue?

Postby s0nicp on Mon Apr 21, 2008 3:33 pm

i installed the ati driver using latest envy. i opened restricted driver manager and it said that no components needed restricted drivers.
s0nicp
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:19 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests