screen compressed

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

screen compressed

Postby donec on Thu Apr 17, 2008 7:43 pm

My screen is compressed after the grub boot menu is there a way to tell Mint to boot with a given resolution from the boot menu command line? When Mint has started I can't use any GUI or terminal since I can't read anything. This happens even in recovery mode.
BTW you guys are great and I thank you for your assistance.
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: screen compressed

Postby edav on Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:27 pm

Hello,

The boot command line parameter is
Code: Select all
vga=7xx
where xx depends on resolution and color depth.

This applies only for framebuffer, I meant the splash screen which follows boot. For the desktop resolution, check your
Code: Select all
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
but change only if you understand what you're doing.

À+,
edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: screen compressed

Postby donec on Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:31 pm

edav wrote:Hello,

The boot command line parameter is
Code: Select all
vga=7xx
where xx depends on resolution and color depth.

This applies only for framebuffer, I meant the splash screen which follows boot. For the desktop resolution, check your
Code: Select all
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
but change only if you understand what you're doing.

À+,
edav.

Thanks! How can I edit "/etc/X11/xorg.conf" if I can't read the screen?
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Re: screen compressed

Postby edav on Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:53 pm

hi,

Boot in recovery mode. When you are in the console, type
Code: Select all
cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.bck
for backup, then
Code: Select all
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
to edit the file.

But why did the screen goes wrong? Did you change something? Did it work fine once before?

À+,
edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: screen compressed

Postby donec on Thu Apr 17, 2008 8:59 pm

edav wrote:hi,

Boot in recovery mode. When you are in the console, type
Code: Select all
cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.bck
for backup, then
Code: Select all
nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
to edit the file.

But why did the screen goes wrong? Did you change something? Did it work fine once before?

À+,
edav.

Thanks edav, Yes it did work at one time and I am sure it is something I did as I was messing with the xorg.conf and screen resolutions. Then I rebooted and it was compressed. :oops: :)
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Re: screen compressed

Postby edav on Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:10 pm

try to find the initial good xorg.conf backup file : when we make changes, some backup files are automagically created by the system in /etc/X11/, to prevent n00b like us to fix what is not broken ;-)

edav.
edav
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: screen compressed

Postby donec on Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:12 pm

Thanks again edav.
Don
http://bestwebstop.webcentr.net
Links and accurate information provide the best answer, while garbage in provides garbage out.ImageRegistered Linux user # 449322
Moved up to LM17 KDE
donec
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 340
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Texas

Re: screen compressed

Postby newW2 on Thu Apr 17, 2008 9:50 pm

Reset xorg configuration to default

Go to terminal (ctrl-alt-f5) and type in:
sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

That will reset your X configuration to the default.
After you use that command type:
sudo reboot.
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 39 guests