BB desktop manager

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

BB desktop manager

Postby mrmcanus on Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:14 am

I have Tmobile Blackberry Pearl 8100. I use the Blackberry Desktop manager for my phone for pics, maps, doc, etc. I've downloaded wine and inserted BB disk. It will only get as far as searching for previous versions then pc freezes. Any ideas?
mrmcanus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:41 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: BB desktop manager

Postby Husse on Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:40 am

Sorry but you have to clarify
What disk do you insert?
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: BB desktop manager

Postby mrmcanus on Sun Apr 20, 2008 12:55 pm

When I insert the Blackberry installation disk from T-mobile.
mrmcanus
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:41 pm

Re: BB desktop manager

Postby Husse on Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:14 pm

mrmcanus wrote:When I insert the Blackberry installation disk from T-mobile.

Well you wrote
use the Blackberry Desktop manager

This seems to be a problem with wine and or blackberry. I don't have any experience with blackberry (apart from eating them, but that's another sort :)) so I can't really help
However
searching for previous versions

could probe the hardware and that's always a problem
I haven't got wine installed so I can't check, but do you have to manually enable USB?
The program on the disk may need to see the unit....
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: BB desktop manager

Postby MagnusB on Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:31 am

Yeah, it is a pain to get wine to communicate with hardware, you have to create some symlinks etc, IIRC.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mark Phelps and 34 guests