Removal of Screensavers and Wallpapers

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Removal of Screensavers and Wallpapers

Postby NewbieCakes on Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:05 am

Hello, I am a Linux Mint newb..and a Linux newb at that..I have tried over a dozen distros in the month since I switched to GNU/Linux and I really love this one!! My current problem is that my system (with 768MB ram) is understandably bogged what with the Compiz-Fusion toys but I just couldn't stay away from them..I am trying to cut down on things I never use, one of which is screensavers...I liked two or three in the list but I have never been one to use a screensaver...I am unsure how to remove some of them or if it's possible since Google couldn't tell me (lol)...I hope this doesn't offend because I really do love this distro more than any other I have tried so far but I can't afford to get any more memory right now so I must cut down on things I have no use for...
Can someone assist me with this please?
Oh, and I am a command-line moron, so please bear with me :)
Thank you
For me, Mr. Right is probably Mr. Institutionalized
NewbieCakes
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Removal of Screensavers and Wallpapers

Postby Husse on Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:19 am

I like your signature :)
but I can't figure out what you are asking for :shock:
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21

Postby Andy Mack on Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:57 am

Check out System/Administration/System Monitor from there you can see what is using most of your memory.