LinuxMint and 3G connection with Huawei 220

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

LinuxMint and 3G connection with Huawei 220

Postby davidm on Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:08 pm

I am new to linux, having bought an eeepc 2G about a month ago. However I have a lot of Unix experience, as root, and mostly using command line.

I was wrestling with various Linux distros, until I discovered LinuxMint on a magazine freebie this weekend. This ran successfully on the eeepc, with some limitations due to the small screen size. However it looks great, and has IMO a very clean and adjustable interface. I was so impressed that I immediately installed it straight into a 30Gb partition on my laptop (a Toshiba Satellite 2650).

The downside is that to be of any use, other than admiring its aesthetics, any Unix installation needs an internet connection. I don't have an ADSL connection, I use a wireless 3G modem - a HUAWEI e2220, supplied in my case by 02 Ireland, but available in various guises from many mobile phone companies, in particular all the Vodafones. It plugs into a USB port and is set up for Windows.

Not suprisingly, it did not work 'out of the box'. The main problem, for most Unix (but not the eeepc's version of Xandros), is that it contains both the modem and a pretend 'CD ROM' drive containing firmware, attached to the same USB connection. The OS detects the modem, then detects the memory stick, decides that it can be the latter only, and drops the modem connection.