change language for 1 user

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

change language for 1 user

Postby qwertyjjj on Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:48 am

I have 4 users on a computer, 1 of them needs to have the lanuage in Dutch, 1 in Spanish.
I can see the option to change the language on login but then I get this error:
nederlands.utf not present
then everything appears in english again/.

Also, how can I choose a language for each user by default without them having to change it at every login?
qwertyjjj
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: change language for 1 user

Postby Jim1938 on Fri Nov 30, 2012 1:31 pm

...
Mintlinux 13 xfce 64-bit

Here is how I was able to create a dual language (EN & DK) keyboard:
I shift language by pressing ctrl and shift together.
abc ... æøå

Go to etc/default/keyboard
XKBMODEL="pc105"
XKBLAYOUT="us,dk"
XKBVARIANT=""
XKBOPTIONS="grp:ctrl_shift_toggle"

I suggest you teach the non multilingual users how to switch back to English
in case they accidentally find they are not in English.

Unfortunately I have not found a language display applet as yet.
Ubuntu gnome 10.04 had a language applet.

Jim1938
...
Wirth's law - Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster.
User avatar
Jim1938
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: USA

Re: change language for 1 user

Postby qwertyjjj on Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:34 am

Jim1938 wrote:...
Mintlinux 13 xfce 64-bit

Here is how I was able to create a dual language (EN & DK) keyboard:
I shift language by pressing ctrl and shift together.
abc ... æøå

Go to etc/default/keyboard
XKBMODEL="pc105"
XKBLAYOUT="us,dk"
XKBVARIANT=""
XKBOPTIONS="grp:ctrl_shift_toggle"

I suggest you teach the non multilingual users how to switch back to English
in case they accidentally find they are not in English.

Unfortunately I have not found a language display applet as yet.
Ubuntu gnome 10.04 had a language applet.

Jim1938
...


but it's supposed to work isn't it from the logi screen?
The problem is that when you select Dutch, it does not stay as Dutch, none of the Windows are in Dutch. Is this a bug?
qwertyjjj
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:07 am

Re: change language for 1 user

Postby Jim1938 on Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:44 pm

I would suggest you create a multiboot pc.
Install the Dutch version of Mint in one partition,
Spanish in another, and English in another.
Then when a user wants to use the pc, he/she
reboots to the language desired. This way
you can have secure username/password
protection also for your clients.

Will Mint allow 3 Mint versions on one pc???
Or will Mint think you are trying to fix
a previous install?
Wirth's law - Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster.
User avatar
Jim1938
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 8:49 pm
Location: USA

Re: change language for 1 user

Postby qwertyjjj on Sun Dec 02, 2012 5:07 am

But it is supposed to work on the current Mint version...
http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/17528/ch ... in-ubuntu/

However, on selecting this, the language doe snot change anywhere.
qwertyjjj
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:07 am

Re: change language for 1 user

Postby qwertyjjj on Mon Dec 03, 2012 4:24 pm

Jim1938 wrote:I would suggest you create a multiboot pc.
Install the Dutch version of Mint in one partition,
Spanish in another, and English in another.
Then when a user wants to use the pc, he/she
reboots to the language desired. This way
you can have secure username/password
protection also for your clients.

Will Mint allow 3 Mint versions on one pc???
Or will Mint think you are trying to fix
a previous install?


But there is supposed to be the functionality for different users to use different languages so why install on separate partitions?
qwertyjjj
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2012 6:07 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ginsu543, I2k4 and 44 guests