Webcam

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

How do i get my webcam to work with skype

Postby Deathvulture65 on Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:55 pm

I have skype downloaded and can not get my webcam to work with skype it works when i do a preview with the video 4 linux control pannel and skype recognizes that i have a webcam but it will not turn on or show video when i try to use it on skype if anyone could tell me how to get it to work that would be great
Deathvulture65
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:44 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do i get my webcam to work with skype

Postby nomko on Tue Nov 27, 2012 4:25 am

Please provide us with more info about your Mint version, brand/model/type webcam etc. Without this information, we can not help you as we would like.

This is a hint for you in the future to use: always give as much information in your post regarding your system, (error) messages, hardware, Mint version.
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Webcam

Postby TaraAthena on Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:58 pm

I have tried a bunch of different things to get Skype to work, but it appears that I don't have a video device installed, and nothing I have tried has worked. I have Mint 15, and I think a 32bit, but I'm not positive. I have installed Cheese and Camorama, camera still not working. Please help?
TaraAthena
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:53 pm

skype

Postby TaraAthena on Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:06 pm

Video device not working. I am soooo brand new. Please help, I've tried everything I could find on google. I have Mint 15.
TaraAthena
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: How do i get my webcam to work with skype

Postby TaraAthena on Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:09 pm

I have no clue how to get that information. I have an intel centrino duo..... that's about all i know, and mint 15. I THINK i have 32 bit, but could be 64.
TaraAthena
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: How do i get my webcam to work with skype

Postby TaraAthena on Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:14 pm

i have a VAIO
TaraAthena
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: How do i get my webcam to work with skype

Postby TaraAthena on Sun Nov 03, 2013 6:21 pm

i have cinnamon 32 bit
TaraAthena
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:53 pm

Skype

Postby TaraAthena on Sun Nov 03, 2013 10:36 pm

My camera is recognized but my video is showing up as black, also for Cheese. Thanks!!
TaraAthena
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: How do i get my webcam to work with skype

Postby nomko on Mon Nov 04, 2013 2:29 am

---cut---
Last edited by nomko on Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Webcam

Postby nomko on Mon Nov 04, 2013 6:41 am

Okay, first of all i would like to point out the forum rules to you and especially rule #5 about providing as much details as possible.

That being said, now we want details, details and details about your system and webcam. So, can you do this:

1 - open a terminal
2 - run the following command:
Code: Select all
inxi -F

3 - copy the output using Ctrl+Shift+C after selecting the output
4 - paste the output here

5 - now run the following command in the same terminal:
Code: Select all
lsusb

6 - repeat steps 3 and 4

Thanks!
MSI GE70-2PE*Quad core Intel Core i7-4710HQ*Kingston 16 GB RAM*Intel 4th Gen. Integr. GPU/NVidia GeForce GTX860M*Qualcomm Atheros Killer E2200/Intel Wireless 3160*Sitecom X5-N600 Router (WLR-5100)

Visit my website:
My personal website
User avatar
nomko
Level 9
Level 9
 
Posts: 2920
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2012 7:28 pm
Location: The Hague, The Netherlands

Re: Webcam

Postby hugonz on Mon Nov 04, 2013 12:04 pm

There's this thing with Skype, that it uses old V4L v1 (video for linux version 1) interface instead of the v4lv2 interface. If the webcam works in another application (Cheese, for example) and not on Skype, this may be your problem. I had this problem with Xubuntu 12.04

There is a wrapper that you can use with Skype for this, Apparently this should work (on the command line)

Code: Select all
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libv4l/v4l1compat.so /usr/bin/skype


I checked on my Mint 15 system and the library is there, so maybe give it a try.
hugonz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 04, 2013 11:56 am

Re: Webcam

Postby SteveNorfolk on Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:24 pm

I have a Logitech STX Communicate webcam and when I log in to Skype I always check options to see if there is a picture. The problem is sometimes there is and sometimes there isn't. If someone contacts me through Skype and it happens to be one of those days when it doesn't work, I can see and hear them but they cannot see and hear me. I therefore have to log out of Linux and reboot into XP. Can anyone help me to explain this ?
SteveNorfolk
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:13 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], marcverho and 25 guests