Dual Boot New Laptop Windows 7

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Dual Boot New Laptop Windows 7

Postby snowishberlin on Sun Dec 02, 2012 1:28 am

Ok. This is driving me crazy. I just got a new Lenovo P580, and got a really good deal on Microsoft Office Pro via my work, so I don't want to give up Windows. Sadly.
I want to set up this new laptop to dual boot Windows 7 home premium, which came on it, and Linux Mint (the newest, and I don't care if it is Cinnamon or Mate at this point).
I've been using Ubuntu since 2007, and since 2010 I think it has been awful, so I am ready for a switch. I installed Mint 13 Cinnamon on my other laptop clean, and I love it. But I really want to preserve Windows, mostly for the Office suite, and I can't. So please help me.
When I use unetbootin or anything else like that I can't get a dual boot option when I boot the live USB. I don't know much about partitioning in Windows or Linux because Ubuntu did it for me years ago, and Mint won't. Or, at least, the directions aren't clear.
This new lappy has a 750GB harddrive, with 4(!!!) partitions already: a SYSTEM_DRV of 200MB; Windows7_OS (C:) of 653GB with boot, page file, crash dump, and primary partition; Lenovo (D:) 25GB primary partition; and ________[no identity] 19GB OEM partition.
Can someone please guide me through setting up good partitions - and I don't care about space on either side - and installing the dual boot system? I have read the pdf on installing; doesn't help. I can't find specific enough help in these forums. I don't want to run virtual machines for either.
Thank you!
snowishberlin
Level 1
Level 1