What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby unreal223 on Sun Apr 27, 2008 12:24 pm

I've been playing with the new ubuntu(will go to mint as soon as its released. :D )
Anyway I cant get it to play WMA even after installing the restricted extras and Amarok. I could play my songs with amarok in mint so what do you guys have installed to play wma lossless?
unreal223
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:04 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby unreal223 on Mon Apr 28, 2008 3:19 am

No one knows what package I need for wma?
I really need this to work. :(
unreal223
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby Dutchmaster on Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:54 am

A search in the repo via synaptic reveals that xmms and xmms2 both provide wma decoding files.

As for the "lossless" language you used, I'm not knowledgeable of the significance of that.
User avatar
Dutchmaster
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 68
Joined: Sun Jun 24, 2007 8:35 am

Re: What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby Insane1 on Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:22 am

I believe that you need to install amarok-xine. That's what Linux Mint uses.
User avatar
Insane1
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 62
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:26 pm
Location: Wolcott, CT

Re: What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby unreal223 on Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:01 pm

Nope that amarok-xine was installed by default with amarok. :(
I REALLY need this to work. I have hundreds of cds encoded in WMA Lossless format. Lately I've been trying to use FLAC but WMP 10 and now 11 just make it to easy to get lossless, with album art, ect. :P
unreal223
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby MagnusB on Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:17 pm

If you use WMP to get those file I bet they are laden with DRM, blame the retailer for not making the product you buy platform independant.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby unreal223 on Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:04 pm

No, they do not have DRM(they play in linux mint under amarok) I just want to know what is making them work so I can use them in the new Ubuntu. I will use linux mint when the new version comes out but this new ubuntu is the first to actually support ALL my notebooks hardware.

WMA Lossless is pretty much the same thing as Apple's Lossless codec. It produces great sounding files that mp3 just cant compete with. I would use FLAC but no MP3 player I have supports it(I have 2 different sansa players).
unreal223
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: What do I need for WMA Lossless playback

Postby unreal223 on Sun May 04, 2008 1:31 am

I figured out what is needed for WMA lossless playback in Amarok:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu

Apparently those aren't even installed with the ubuntu-restricted-extras package.
unreal223
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:04 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], clankfu, dwightwilder and 29 guests