mint 14 - something wrong with the partition

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

mint 14 - something wrong with the partition

Postby bustard on Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:47 pm

I have installed mint 14 nadia twice, but each time there is
something wrong with the single /sda partition.

I don't know if it has anything to do with my removing the swap
file, but thought it is worth mentioning. I don't want to have a
swap file because it takes clonezilla too long, using 'dd' I think,
to back that kind of file up.

So after I installed mint 14, I booted up with a live disk and ran
gparted to get rid of the swap file, leaving it as unallocated
space. Then I resized the main partition to incorporate that space.

Two odd things happened after that:

If I booted up with puppy linux on a usb stick, the gparted
utility on that could not see the partition (I did not try this
before getting rid of the swap file, so don't know if they are
connected).

But If I looked at it with a live cd or while running mint 14, it
could see it, and mint seems to work normally.

The deal-breaker was that if I ran clonezilla to back up the system,
it crapped out with a 'something is wrong' message.

Any suggestions as to what I can do to fix things? I'm back with
ubuntu 12.04, which is ok, but I prefer mint.
bustard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: mint 14 - something wrong with the partition

Postby bustard on Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:26 pm

To follow up:

I re-installed but left the swap file in place. The puppy linux and clonezilla tests failed as before.

Then I downloaded another version from a different download location. This one was '14.1' which was supposed to fix some bugs, but not mine. Same results after installing and testing.

Then I decided to try the 32-bit version. I guess this would result in a slower speed, but most things I do on this machine are pretty simple, so I figured it wouldn't make a big difference to me, and most importantly, could be backed up.

That didn't work either. And I am getting low on blank DVDs, so I'm calling it quits with mint and going back to ubuntu 12.04.

It looks like there is some bug in the 64-bit version that keeps it from working with an I5 Ivy Bridge system. Or at least mine, and mine works fine with ubuntu 12.04.
bustard
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:51 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bishop3337, hinto and 31 guests