Grub Error 21

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Grub Error 21

Postby Logeom on Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:19 am

I have XP installed on my computer and i just installed linux on a partition on the same hard drive.

on start up i get a grub error 21, ive seen fixes for people who get this with dual hard drives but it didnt help me
Logeom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:04 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Husse on Tue Apr 29, 2008 6:27 am

This seems a bit strange
You say on a partition - I assume that you have at least created a root / and a swap partition
With Vista all sorts of things have been reported....
Can you boot XP?
You could try to repair grub, but it does not seem to really be that kind of problem
http://www.linuxmint.com/wiki/index.php ... _your_grub
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Logeom on Tue Apr 29, 2008 1:25 pm

I have since reformatted the entire hard drive and allowed linux to install using the entire disk and i still have the problem
Logeom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:04 am

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Nomad on Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:40 pm

One thing you might try is to see if your BIOS has a setting for type of OS, if so set it to Unix or Other. I had this problem on an old emachines with XP and Ubuntu not getting along. I'm not sure what the issue is with that, all the other computers i've ever had worked great. Just an idea, very well may not work. Grub is saying the disc you want to boot to doesn't exist if I remember correctly.. how is your HDD connected? Is it IDE?
Nomad
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:48 pm

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Logeom on Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:13 pm

My BIOS doesnt have a option for OS, and i have an IDE hard drive in the slave position
Logeom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:04 am

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Nomad on Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:22 pm

Slave? Is that your only HDD?
Nomad
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:48 pm

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Logeom on Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:33 pm

yes it is
Logeom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:04 am

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Nomad on Tue Apr 29, 2008 5:38 pm

It "should" work just fine but you might see about changing that if you can. Other than that I'm not sure. That sometimes messes things up, not often tho.
Nomad
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 147
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2008 7:48 pm

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Husse on Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:08 am

Avoid having a hard disk as slave as long as you can. If it's the only drive set it as master and whatever is more on that IDE cable as slave
I think it will work after that - but I can't guarantee it
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Logeom on Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:58 am

ok i now have my HDD as master and i have reinstalled linux, it's still not working so I'm going to try downloading grub and installing it myself rather than letting linux do it.

fingers crossed
Logeom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:04 am

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Logeom on Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:44 pm

ok i can verify that grub is full installed, but when it boots up it still gets the error 21, like its pointing at a non-existent hard drive.

:roll:
Logeom
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:04 am

Re: Grub Error 21

Postby Husse on Thu May 01, 2008 8:34 am

As you wrote you had XP we can rule out Mac but it's time for you to tell us your hardware, motherboard with details on IDE controller if possible and what hard disk you use
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], nomko and 39 guests