Adding the Mate desktop to a Linux Mint 13 KDE installation

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Adding the Mate desktop to a Linux Mint 13 KDE installation

Postby jack rooster on Wed Dec 26, 2012 7:05 pm

Hello. I've been dabbling with Linux on and off for several years (since Ubuntu 7.x) and finally decided to go full time with Linux using Linux Mint 13 KDE which I installed a week ago and really love. There are some features I liked about the Gnome 2 desktop and would like to add the LM 13 Mate desktop to my system to see which desktop I like the best. I have read that installing 'mate-desktop' via Synaptic would result in double installation of some apps so I tried 'sudo apt-get install 'mint-meta-mate' according to some recommendations and received the following error message:

"Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
mint-meta-mate : Depends: mate-notification-daemon but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages."


I then checked for broken packages in Synaptic and found none.

I've found and read many posts about adding KDE to Mate, which I've done in the past, but not the other way around (adding Mate to KDE) Can someone help me out ?

Thanks
Dell Vostro 3750 laptop, 8GB RAM, Intel HD Graphics 3000, 320GB 7200 rpm SATA-300 HDD, Linux Mint 15 KDE 64-bit (my primary OS), Cinnamon (for the occasional KDE login problem), Windows 7 (MS Office / Diablo 2)
jack rooster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:16 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Adding the Mate desktop to a Linux Mint 13 KDE installa

Postby tdockery97 on Wed Dec 26, 2012 9:01 pm

Synaptic is a great GUI, but it is not perfect. I've many times tried the Edit>Fix Broken and it just doesn't work. You may want to open Konsole and try:
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get -f install

and see if that clears things up.
Image

HP Pavilion 17 Notebook, 8GB DDR3, 2.5GHZ A10-APU, Radeon HD 8650G
User avatar
tdockery97
Level 13
Level 13
 
Posts: 4878
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 8:54 am
Location: Salem, Oregon

Re: Adding the Mate desktop to a Linux Mint 13 KDE installa

Postby jack rooster on Wed Jan 09, 2013 11:05 am

I've successfully installed the mate-desktop thru Synaptic pkg mgr. Logged out of KDE into Mate. No Internet. No network.. No icon. Nothing. Log into KDE everything is OK. Any suggestions?
Dell Vostro 3750 laptop, 8GB RAM, Intel HD Graphics 3000, 320GB 7200 rpm SATA-300 HDD, Linux Mint 15 KDE 64-bit (my primary OS), Cinnamon (for the occasional KDE login problem), Windows 7 (MS Office / Diablo 2)
jack rooster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:16 pm

Re: Adding the Mate desktop to a Linux Mint 13 KDE installa

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Wed Jan 09, 2013 5:50 pm

jack rooster wrote:I've successfully installed the mate-desktop thru Synaptic pkg mgr. Logged out of KDE into Mate. No Internet. No network.. No icon. Nothing. Log into KDE everything is OK. Any suggestions?


Do you have the Mate Network settings installed? Have checked Menu>prefernces>Network Settings or alt F2 type in nm-connection-editor?
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

Re: Adding the Mate desktop to a Linux Mint 13 KDE installa

Postby jack rooster on Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:01 pm

Hadn't tried Mate since my last post. Started it up today to try your suggestion and the first thing I see is a network login window! The network is working and the icon is there! I've rebooted my computer since then. Maybe that was the problem.
Dell Vostro 3750 laptop, 8GB RAM, Intel HD Graphics 3000, 320GB 7200 rpm SATA-300 HDD, Linux Mint 15 KDE 64-bit (my primary OS), Cinnamon (for the occasional KDE login problem), Windows 7 (MS Office / Diablo 2)
jack rooster
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 6:16 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests