itv and channel4

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

itv and channel4

Postby jungar on Sat May 03, 2008 6:10 pm

hi guys .. im in the UK and cant get these two to play. althought for what its worth, the bbc iplay seems to be working fine.

http://www.itv.com/CatchUp/default.html

http://www.channel4.com/watch_online/
User avatar
jungar
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: itv and channel4

Postby jungar on Sat May 03, 2008 6:12 pm

channel4 says i have a missing plugin .. and when i click on install plugin .. it doesnt recognize or know what plugin i need ..

and itv just doesnt work .. the site is a mess.
User avatar
jungar
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby Andy Mack on Sat May 03, 2008 7:22 pm

ITV uses Microsoft silverlight, WIndow's only. Disgrace.
Channel 4 is WIndows and possibly Mac only.

Could install XP in virtualbox or vmware.

Should have went the BBC way.
Andy Mack
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2008 8:11 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby jungar on Sat May 03, 2008 7:49 pm

so how do i bypass that?

i have xp installed also .. but i heard that wine causes all sorts of problems.. is it worth it?

is there a safe way of using both OS's at the same time?
User avatar
jungar
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby newW2 on Sat May 03, 2008 8:04 pm

Yes with either Vbox or VMWare. I have used both, however, VMWare Workstation was by far the easiest to install and use. VMWorkstation has a trial period if you'd like to try it and I think VMPlayer may be free. Others I know have used QEMU. And Ubuntu will start shipping with KVMa special version of QEMU.
Vbox was OK but there were some issues with USB support as I recall and you had to use NAT to connect to the internet. Not too hard. Vbox is free, so check it out as well.
User avatar
newW2
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1081
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2007 10:24 am
Location: USA

Re: itv and channel4

Postby jungar on Sun May 04, 2008 3:33 am

is the new Elyssa gonna feature this ] VMWare? or any other software that helps you access windows XP..

and if its not safe .. then why do it?
User avatar
jungar
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby belovedmonster on Sun May 04, 2008 5:21 am

Flash is so common on peoples computers that choosing not to use it is just retarded. Why do these media companies just not get it? Give me high quality streaming flash videos and I wont need to torrent missed TV shows.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby bobm on Sun May 04, 2008 1:36 pm

This baffles me. The BBC state that I can't watch it - but I can?? Is there something they don't know going on?
bobm
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:30 am

Re: itv and channel4

Postby belovedmonster on Sun May 04, 2008 2:42 pm

What is the reason for you saying you shouldn't be able to watch?
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby bobm on Sun May 04, 2008 5:21 pm

When I go to iplayer, this message pops up, "Download information

Sorry, downloading BBC iPlayer programmes is currently only available for Windows. (Why?)" Then the programme just starts playing anyway. I'm just curious.
bobm
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:30 am

Re: itv and channel4

Postby belovedmonster on Sun May 04, 2008 6:11 pm

When you say the programme starts playing anyway do you mean on your browser? That is not downloading it, that is streaming it online. Downloading it is when you download the video file to your harddrive where it remains playable for 30 days before the DRM cripples it.

The online streaming was designed as just a work around for Mac and Linux users but now everyone uses it almost exclusively. The number of people who actually download the shows are a very small percentage. You do get higher quality if you download, but obviously not enough to make windows users bother with it.
User avatar
belovedmonster
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 642
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2006 12:34 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby merlwiz79 on Sun May 04, 2008 6:32 pm

You might get videos using User Agent Switcher and switching it to IE7.
Moonlight is the Linux version of Silverlight.
http://www.mono-project.com/Moonlight
http://www.go-mono.com/moonlight/#instructions
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Re: BBC site

Postby jeremiah2329 on Sun May 04, 2008 7:58 pm

Is it possible to watch the BBC site from the US?

If so, can anyone post the link - I had a bit of trouble trying to track down the site for watching shows online.

thanks!
jeremiah2329
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: BBC iPlayer

Postby jeremiah2329 on Sun May 04, 2008 8:05 pm

Looks like I answered my own question. I changed my location to UK and the iPlayer links came up, but they wouldn't play. Apparently you have to be in the UK for it to work. They say they are working on an international version. Does anyone know a way around this?? without moving to the UK??

SciFi channel doesn't offer Dr. Who on their rewind site so, I'd love to be able to watch shows I miss...
jeremiah2329
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: BBC iPlayer

Postby jungar on Sun May 04, 2008 9:05 pm

jeremiah2329 wrote:Looks like I answered my own question. I changed my location to UK and the iPlayer links came up, but they wouldn't play. Apparently you have to be in the UK for it to work. They say they are working on an international version. Does anyone know a way around this?? without moving to the UK??

SciFi channel doesn't offer Dr. Who on their rewind site so, I'd love to be able to watch shows I miss...


unfortunately, the bbc iplayer is exclusive to the UK ... unless you could bypass the proxy.. im not sure.. try playing around with the proxies
User avatar
jungar
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 10:25 pm

Re: itv and channel4

Postby merlwiz79 on Mon May 05, 2008 7:50 pm

Well after I installed moonlight, I still had problems.
I could get it to work but most sites still said I needed silverlight to use them.
I had the plugin installed for firefox but it must not be a version match to what the sites needed.

I used the how to here:
http://www.deepakg.com/blog/archives/39.htm
With tweaks:
Like installing libswscale-dev instead of backporting.
sudo cp *.so moonlight.exe /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins
should be:
cd /usr/lib/moon/plugin/
then
sudo cp *.so moonlight.exe /usr/lib/mozilla-firefox/plugins
User avatar
merlwiz79
Level 11
Level 11
 
Posts: 3637
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 1:50 pm
Location: Here again :)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Mute Ant, Reasornos, UgoRipley and 40 guests