no sound in Daryna solved

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

no sound in Daryna solved

Postby calymea on Thu May 08, 2008 1:38 am

Hi, due to a motherboard failure I had to do a forced upgrade on my system. I had sound before the upgrade using ALSA, the set was a Biostar board with an AMD 3800 single core, 1GB PC3200 RAM and a Samsung 400GB PATA drive. I used the on board AC97
sound set up. Worked fine till the board died! The current set up is an AMD 6000 Dual Core with an Asrock board, 2 GB PC6400 DDR2 RAM, 500GB Samsung SATA Drive. Using the on board CM6501 audio, Audio controller is listed as; Standard Open HCD USB Host Controller, DirectX version is DirectX 9.0c. I am using (or trying to use) ALSA, but no joy. Interestingly the same sound set up works fine when I insert a "PC Linux OS" live CD and use the default "Kmix".
calymea
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:55 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby Husse on Thu May 08, 2008 5:46 pm

You did not tell us if you use the main or the KDE edition - can make quite a difference
and
Audio controller is listed as; Standard Open HCD USB Host Controller

I hope not - this is - well, a USB Host Controller
Please post the result of lspci (in a Code box)
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby calymea on Fri May 09, 2008 7:38 am

Hi Husse, thanks for the reply. I use the main edition. Not exactly sure what you mean by "lspci in a code box"? Thanks, Calymea.
calymea
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby Lysias on Fri May 09, 2008 10:41 am

You open up a console/terminal and there simply type "lscpi"

Then post back the output in a "[code][/code]" fashion.Code is a style of posting in these forums..when you click the reply button you'll see that there are some buttons just above the text box one of which is Code.
User avatar
Lysias
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 6:32 pm

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Fri May 09, 2008 3:52 pm

you could check this too - I had to do this to get sound on my thinkpad:

taken from a post of mine -------


"Ok - I just went into sound again and under default mixer tracks chose pcm - I did this before a couple of times but it never took. Did it this time and it works!!!!!!

from http://www.thinkwiki.org/wiki/Installin ... tsy_Gibbon)_on_a_ThinkPad_R61



Sound

Sound card drivers are loaded out of the box but the default sound device is Microphone for some reason. You can see this by opening up the Volume Control window by right clicking on the taskbar volume applet and selecting "Open Volume Control". Because of this the special Volume buttons will also change the volume of the Microphone. To change this, click on System-> Preferences -> Sound and set Default Mixer Track to PCM."


it now works. I did have sound though prior to this but only adjustable by the icon in the panel - not the buttons.

check this - it may help or it may not even be a fix for your specific situation. Just trying to offer some advice.
Linux Mint - Pure Bliss!
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby ed@Mint on Fri May 09, 2008 4:39 pm

Here is a nice guide for general sound problems : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449
Check it out.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby Husse on Fri May 09, 2008 4:40 pm

calymea wrote:Hi Husse, thanks for the reply. I use the main edition. Not exactly sure what you mean by "lspci in a code box"? Thanks, Calymea.

I agree that was not quite clear, sorry I'll try to express it better in the future
lspci in a terminal (of course)
Then paste it as Code because if you do that your post does not get so long, "lspci" is partially hidden
As code we get a box you can scroll.
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby mplumridge22 on Fri May 09, 2008 5:08 pm

Hi

Just to let you know i had this problem and after trying lots of possible solutions is was as simple as adjusting the PCM channel in the mixer from zero to maximum. It was set zero by default.

Martyn
mplumridge22
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 4:24 pm

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby calymea on Fri May 09, 2008 11:16 pm

Code: Select all
 lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM/GMS/910GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 04)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 04)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 04)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 04)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #2 (rev 04)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #3 (rev 04)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #4 (rev 04)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 04)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev d4)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 04)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) IDE Controller (rev 04)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 04)
06:01.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1510 PC card Cardbus Controller
06:04.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG Network Connection (rev 05)
06:08.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
calymea
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Sat May 10, 2008 7:37 am

thanks Husse - I never knew about pasting code that way.... :)
Linux Mint - Pure Bliss!
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby MagnusB on Sat May 10, 2008 11:03 am

Code: Select all
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 04)

Open a terminal and type in
Code: Select all
alsamixer

And check that master & PCM isn't [MM] but [00].
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby Husse on Sat May 10, 2008 3:49 pm

82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family)

It's not the ICH8 and I'm not sure if the tricks for ICH8 will work - but perhaps you find a solution here
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=205449
The major sound guide
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby calymea on Sun May 25, 2008 7:20 am

Hi, still having hassles. Perhaps a PCI sound card may be easier? Can anyone recommend a good, easy to get one that works well? Anything I need to know to set it up correctly? Thanks all.
calymea
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby ed@Mint on Sun May 25, 2008 8:26 am

Wait for Elyssa before buying new hardware.
The new kernel seems to be less tricky with audio hardware.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby Husse on Sun May 25, 2008 3:51 pm

The new kernel seems to be less tricky with audio hardware.

It would seem so - not that many questions about sound in the beta topic
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby calymea on Mon May 26, 2008 4:33 am

Ok then. I know Elyssa is still in beta, but do we have a rough idea when we might see the final release (all going well)?
Thanks.
calymea
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby ed@Mint on Mon May 26, 2008 6:50 am

2 or 3 weeks.
In libro veritas

Now switched to : ArchLinux

New users, read the Linux Mint User Guide | Problem ? See the Wiki first | Check out the Software Portal | Join the IRC channel : #linuxmint @ irc.spotchat.org
User avatar
ed@Mint
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2008 6:03 pm
Location: Liege, Belgium

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby calymea on Tue Jun 17, 2008 7:58 am

Hi everyone, looks like good news. Downloaded and tested Elyssa on live cd and sound works! So hopefully this will solve this issue, yet to try install. Fingers crossed. Thanks.
calymea
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 93
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2007 10:55 pm

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby tri on Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:01 pm

In terminal you type: sudo asoundconf list, to list all the card available in your system. When you decide which card will be default, type:

sudo asoundconf set-default-card <exact name of card from the list>

That should solve this problem.
tri
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:07 am

Re: no sound in Daryna

Postby tri on Wed Jun 18, 2008 12:05 pm

calymea wrote:Hi everyone, looks like good news. Downloaded and tested Elyssa on live cd and sound works! So hopefully this will solve this issue, yet to try install. Fingers crossed. Thanks.


You should be careful while upgrading to Elyssa, Pulseaudio will not show up automatically at start-up and you may not have sound after the next booting. I have just experienced this problem today and then decide to uninstall Pulseaudio.
tri
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2007 12:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: I2k4 and 30 guests