Preferred 'flavor' and installing from USB

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Preferred 'flavor' and installing from USB

Postby hermonski on Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:03 am

Hi everyone,

I'm an absolute newbie to Linux, and having looked at many different versions I've decided to dip my toe in the water with Mint 14. I have two quick questions I'd appreciate your opinion on:

- Which 'flavor' of Mint 14 would you recommend I start with (I'll be installing on my old Acer Aspire One D250)

- What's the recommended approach for installing from a usb stick (as the netbook has no optical drive)?

Many thanks,
Hermonski
hermonski
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:42 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Preferred 'flavor' and installing from USB

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:22 am

By default,as far as I know, Aspire only has 1GB of ram which means you can't run Cinnamon comfortably nor KDE. That leaves Mate or XFCE both are really so similar it's just a matter or preference which one you choose, though XFCE can with lower ram usage then MATE.

Moreover I wouldn't try Mint 14. Nadia seems to be too buggy so I recommend stick with the Long Term Support (LTS) version of Mint,Maya (Mint 13).

How to install using USB
viewtopic.php?f=46&t=113309#p632276
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pThafQXJa0Y [create an USB installer using Windows]
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

Re: Preferred 'flavor' and installing from USB

Postby hermonski on Sat Jan 19, 2013 5:22 am

Thanks for posting such a great response, TheDynamicHamza21.

You're correct; it does have only 1GB of RAM. On your advice I'll give 13/Maya a go (and I think I'll opt for XFCE as it's not a very beefy computer).

Cheers! :)

EDIT It installed and runs perfectly. Thank you! <3

Hermonski
hermonski
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 3:42 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], gibbs1984, Hecubus, rfeyer and 33 guests