Convert IBM R51 to Linux Mint

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Convert IBM R51 to Linux Mint

Postby pensee on Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:34 pm

First, I am not very technical but am willing to try. I have an old IBM ThinkPad R51 1836BDU laptop that I'd like to convert to Linux Mint but unsure if possible. I tried to install Windows 7 and failed so that now the machine will not boot. It is useless and I've decided to use it to try Linux. I've never used LInux but thought it good time to explore and learn. However, am unsure if Linux Mint will run on the laptop. I'd appreciate some help to decide. These are my machine specs:

11b/g Wi-Fi Wirlesss US/CA
1.5GHz Intel Pentium M processor
70 GB hard drive (will readily change it if one better and suitable)
40GB HD 4200rpm R51
2GB DDR333B SODIMM Mem
15.OSXGA+TFT, M7 - 32, 10/100
56K v.90 Modem
Integrated 1Gb Ethernet
CDRW/DVD
Integr. Wirel. LAN

Thanks for the help.
pensee
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: Convert IBM R51 to Linux Mint

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:59 pm

pensee wrote:First, I am not very technical but am willing to try. I have an old IBM ThinkPad R51 1836BDU laptop that I'd like to convert to Linux Mint but unsure if possible. I tried to install Windows 7 and failed so that now the machine will not boot. It is useless and I've decided to use it to try Linux. I've never used LInux but thought it good time to explore and learn. However, am unsure if Linux Mint will run on the laptop. I'd appreciate some help to decide. These are my machine specs:

11b/g Wi-Fi Wirlesss US/CA
1.5GHz Intel Pentium M processor