[SOLVED] Disable caps lock in LM14

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

[SOLVED] Disable caps lock in LM14

Postby loobyloo on Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:37 pm

I am looking for a way to disable the caps lock. Some previous posts suggest

System Settings | Keyboard Layout | Layouts | Options | Caps lock behaviour

There isn't a "Keyboard Layout" option in System Settings in 14. Could anyone tell me where to find the option to disable the caps lock?

Thanks

Cliff
Last edited by loobyloo on Mon Jan 21, 2013 5:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mint 17 Qiana 32-bit / Cinnamon
loobyloo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:35 am
Location: oop North, England

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Disable caps lock in LM14

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:49 pm

loobyloo wrote:I am looking for a way to disable the caps lock. Some previous posts suggest

System Settings | Keyboard Layout | Layouts | Options | Caps lock behaviour

There isn't a "Keyboard Layout" option in System Settings in 14. Could anyone tell me where to find the option to disable the caps lock?

Thanks

Cliff



Linux Mint has several editions of Nadia Mint 14:Cinnamon,Mate,KDE,XFCE. Without knowing which edition you're using it's hard giving a solution to your specific problem. All I can tell you is under Mate and Cinnamon keyboard layout is under preferences in the menu (preference>keyboard>layout>options). I hope that helps
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

Re: Disable caps lock in LM14

Postby xenopeek on Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:50 pm

Indeed, it would be helpful if you included in your signature which Linux Mint 14 you are using. Just the version number, without the desktop environment tells us not enough to properly answer your question.

Anyway, the previous post is correct and this is still the way to do it. On Linux Mint 14 Cinnamon :) If may differ for whichever desktop environment you have installed. Have you tried using the search box in your menu to search for the Keyboard Layout program? And if you are using Xfce, use the Application Finder in your Accessories menu to search.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15280
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Disable caps lock in LM14

Postby loobyloo on Sun Jan 20, 2013 6:54 pm

Oops, sorry--searching for Keyboard Layout (in KDE), then clicking on Advanced finds it. Thanks!
Mint 17 Qiana 32-bit / Cinnamon
loobyloo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:35 am
Location: oop North, England

Re: Disable caps lock in LM14

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:13 pm

loobyloo wrote:Oops, sorry--searching for Keyboard Layout (in KDE), then clicking on Advanced finds it. Thanks!



[8] Indicate Solved Threads

When an issue has been resolved for you, please edit the original post to include <SOLVED> in the title. This provides a good indicator for users with a similar problem to check out the thread. Please make sure the solution that worked for you is clearly indicated, especially if more than one solution has been proposed. If your solution came from outside the forum then describe it or post a link to it. Following these simple instructions will help other users find success solving similar problems.

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=83314
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

[SOLVED] Re: Disable caps lock in LM14 KDE

Postby loobyloo on Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:17 pm

He--- I was just searching for a way to do just that :)
Mint 17 Qiana 32-bit / Cinnamon
loobyloo
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 7:35 am
Location: oop North, England


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bitPanda and 44 guests