Assorted Beginner Questions

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
tinker123
Level 4
Level 4

Assorted Beginner Questions

Post by tinker123 »

Hi,

I'm getting a new PC in March. I've been thinking about putting MINT on it. I've been using Ubuntu for a few years. I have a few miscellaneous questions.

1. Id like to install MINT natively, learn how to use VM software and then install Windows 8 in the VM. The custom computer shop told me they would sell me a computer and give me the Windows disk without installing it. It has been about 10 years since I installed windows. Should the installation disk have everything I need and will the install be unproblmatic as long as I follow the prompts? Will I be able to run MINT from a bootable CD and install it to the hard drive, without the hard drive having an operating system on it?

2. I've been thinking of trying the KDE version of MINT. I've had trouble with the KDE being very buggy and the project slow to fix bugs. That was YEARS ago. Is this still true?

3. During the last several years upgrades of Ubuntu have not been unproblematic. Usually I would have at least one problem to fix, even waiting a month after a fresh release. Granted, that could have been because of my old hardware. Have people been having the same experience with MINT upgrades?

4. How often does MINT update/ugrade...........about as often as Ubuntu?

5. How far apart are LTS releases.