Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby killaed on Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:49 pm

Hello everyone.
I had mint 13 Mate edition on my laptop with dual boot win Vista (HP-Compaq - 6820s // 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00GHz // 2GB RAM). Then I made an upgrade to Cinnamon with work flawlessly. But 2 weeks ago after I ordered Mint 14 Nadia I couldn't install the live CD, so I decided to upgrade using Terminal after reading several links on upgrading the distro that way.
Afterward I could not open MInt normally it showed me this message :
"[ 31.363521] kvm: disabled by bios"
I tried different options to force it work. The only way I can have it work is to go to the recovery.
What can I fix it?
Do I need the downgrade? How can I do that?
How can I install it with the live CD?
Please Help!!!

Here are the step to the dist-upgrade (as far I remembered)
# sudo -i su
# /etc/apt/sources.list
# apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
# apt-get upgrade
# reboot
HP-Compaq - 6820s (Dual boot) Window Vista / Linux Mint 14 Nadia
2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00GHz 2GB RAM Resolution: 1152x864 pixels
Kernel: Linux 3.5.0-21-generic (i686)
User avatar
killaed
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:27 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby xenopeek on Wed Jan 23, 2013 4:49 am

That message is detailed here: http://www.linux-kvm.org/page/FAQ#.22KV ... S.22_error. I'm not sure it is the cause of your problems, but you may try the advice there.

You may try in the GRUB menu pressing 'e' to edit the boot parameters, and on the line that starts with "linux" adding: nomodeset xforcevesa acpi=off noapic nolapic

Perhaps that will let you boot successfully to the desktop.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 15054
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby bb333 on Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:05 pm

KVM message is meaningless to you. KVM = virtual machines

"Mint 14 Nadia I couldn't install the live CD"
It failed during install? Wouldn't boot the livecd? Either one should have been warning signs.



Ubuntu 12.10 kernel looks to not work = mint 14 will not work. Select old kernel in grub:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2077080

http://askubuntu.com/questions/207303/u ... 0s-anymore
bb333
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:50 pm

Re: Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby ccline19 on Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 am

In all my 25 years of being in the IT world I have rarely seen an "upgrade" that is 100% flawless. There are just too many moving parts for the developers to consider when trying to deploy an upgrade. I always find it best to backup your docs, etc. and perform a fresh install.
ccline19
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:42 am

Re: Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby killaed on Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:29 am

If I want to make a fresh install after backing up my files (which is my preference) How can I make the live CD work? whenever I insert the Mint 14 CD, I have a white-gray-minty screen. . When I inserted it to another computer I can try it with no problem.
HP-Compaq - 6820s (Dual boot) Window Vista / Linux Mint 14 Nadia
2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7250 @ 2.00GHz 2GB RAM Resolution: 1152x864 pixels
Kernel: Linux 3.5.0-21-generic (i686)
User avatar
killaed
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:27 pm

Re: Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby ccline19 on Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:57 am

killaed wrote:If I want to make a fresh install after backing up my files (which is my preference) How can I make the live CD work? whenever I insert the Mint 14 CD, I have a white-gray-minty screen. . When I inserted it to another computer I can try it with no problem.


Halt the boot up process at the main screen and adjust your start up resolution to 800x600 and see if that helps. The install will try to use the max resolution during the install and sometimes it doesn't work. If that doesn't help then change the boot loader to use the mesa (safe) video driver.
ccline19
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:42 am

Re: Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby daveinuk on Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:41 am

When I inserted it to another computer I can try it with no problem.


Sure the problem doesn't lie with the CD drive? Maybe try USB disck creator or unetbootin to make a bootable USB drive........
Lenovo ThinkPad T61 LM16-64 bit Intel T7500/2.2GHz/Cinammon 1.8 Intel GM965. Toshiba Satellite M70: LM16-32bit. Desktop:LM13 Maya 64 bit, on new Intel 3.2ghz proc/asus MB/8gb RAM
User avatar
daveinuk
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 978
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2010 7:52 pm
Location: Manchester, England.

Re: Upgrade Mint 13 to 14 did not go well

Postby bb333 on Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:16 pm

killaed wrote:If I want to make a fresh install after backing up my files (which is my preference) How can I make the live CD work? whenever I insert the Mint 14 CD, I have a white-gray-minty screen. . When I inserted it to another computer I can try it with no problem.


Read the links I posted and do what it says. There is a problem with your graphics card (radeon).

You may not even have to reinstall.
bb333
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 3:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Gerry Sherman, hurtsi, konjad, Majestic-12 [Bot], toddgrim and 28 guests

cron