How do I add Crashplan to the menu [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

How do I add Crashplan to the menu [SOLVED]

Postby jimbabwean on Thu Jan 31, 2013 8:52 am

I have Crashplan installed, but it doesn't show up in the menu, since I installed it from Crashplan's website, not from a repository. How do I add the Crashplan launcher, to the menu. I seem to recall there being a folder into which one could put Launchers that caused the menu to display them.
Last edited by jimbabwean on Sun Feb 03, 2013 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jimbabwean
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:02 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How do I add Crashplan to the menu

Postby viking777 on Thu Jan 31, 2013 11:30 am

You are probably thinking of /usr/share/applications which is full of .desktop files which is what the menu will read. If your program has created its own .desktop file (highly unlikely I would think) you could just drop it in this location. The likelihood is that you will have to write your own. They are just simple text files nothing more complicated. The easiest way is to look through your existing ones, find the simplest, copy and rename it to crashplan.desktop then alter the entries to suit crashplan. Name, Icon, Exec, Terminal and Type are about all you really need. My best guesses would be

Name=Crashplan
Icon=(no idea, you will have to look for it, /usr/share/icons is the best place to look)
Exec=crashplan (try the command 'whereis crashplan' that might tell you if it is not as obvious as my guess
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Fujitsu Lifebook AH532. Intel i5 processor, 6Gb ram, Intel HD3000 graphics, Intel Audio/wifi. Realtek RTL8111/8168B Ethernet.Lubuntu 13.10,Ubuntu12.10 (Unity), Mint16 (Cinnamon), Manjaro (Xfce).
Image
User avatar
viking777
Level 14
Level 14
 
Posts: 5153
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2008 11:21 am

Re: How do I add Crashplan to the menu

Postby jimbabwean on Thu Jan 31, 2013 6:49 pm

Awesome! Using your advice I cloned (as root) the System Monitor launcher in /usr/share/applications, right clicked on the clone to get the properties, renamed and modified them accordingly, gave it the correct icon, and voila, Crashplan is now on the System Tools menu. Thanks!
jimbabwean
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:02 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], quorra, ruchira2580 and 32 guests