[SOLVED] remove and completely remove

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[SOLVED] remove and completely remove

Postby monere on Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:47 am

hi,

I want to get rid of banshee and replace it with another mp3 player but when I go to synaptic to remove banshee from there (right mouse clicking doesn't pull any menus btw, when I right click on items in the Applcations menu, it opens them instead) I have 2 options: remove, and completely remove.

which one should I choose and what's the difference between the 2??
Last edited by monere on Fri Feb 01, 2013 10:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
monere
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: remove and completely remove

Postby xenopeek on Fri Feb 01, 2013 7:54 am

Remove, deletes the program from your computer but leaves system-wide configuration files in place. So should you install it again, those will be there still with any adjustments you amde. Completely remove, deletes the program from your computer and also deletes these system-wide configuration files. So should you install it again, you will get a completely fresh set of system-wide configuration files.

Note that neither of these delete user preferences for Banshee from your home folder. I believe those are stored in the .config/banshee-1 folder (to display hidden folders like this, press Ctrl+H in your file manager).
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14565
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: remove and completely remove

Postby monere on Fri Feb 01, 2013 8:36 am

xenopeek wrote:Remove, deletes the program from your computer but leaves system-wide configuration files in place. So should you install it again, those will be there still with any adjustments you amde. Completely remove, deletes the program from your computer and also deletes these system-wide configuration files. So should you install it again, you will get a completely fresh set of system-wide configuration files.

Note that neither of these delete user preferences for Banshee from your home folder. I believe those are stored in the .config/banshee-1 folder (to display hidden folders like this, press Ctrl+H in your file manager).


That's good to know.

Question: do playlists get memorized and re-added to banshee if I only remove the program and then install it again?
monere
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 10:29 am

Re: remove and completely remove

Postby xenopeek on Fri Feb 01, 2013 9:20 am

Playlist is a user preference, so doesn't matter how you remove. User preferences are never touched by a package manager.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14565
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests