cant seem to get help

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
scorn

cant seem to get help

Post by scorn »

I have a satellite a70 laptop with Mint 14 KDE and I am having random cases where I get kicked back to the login screen or just a straight lockup I am a noob and cant find help. I really dont know where to look but here. I have 1 gig of ram and an ati rs300m radeon mobility 9100igp video card. I dont know if its related to that or not. I have been posting on this issue for a while and scouring the web but I cant find an answer. This os is not stable at all on my system Ive tried KDE, Mate, Cinnamon, and had basically the exact same issue on all three. What gives forum?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
bayvista
Level 1
Level 1

Re: cant seem to get help

Post by bayvista »

Sounds like a memory problem to me. Next time you boot, run the Memory Test and see what you get. Also, do you have the latest version of BIOS for your hardware?
scorn

Post by scorn »

I will run Memtest. Bios is up to date. I wouldnt think this is a hardware issue being I have never had this issue in Windows. My ram is brand new corsair 1 gig but ill run the test anyway
monkeyboy

Post by monkeyboy »