Linux mint networking issue

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Linux mint networking issue

Postby philthefluter on Sun Feb 03, 2013 1:52 pm

Hello there - very much a middle aged Newbie
Just installed Mint 14 on an old laptop to have a play and making some progress. Having an issue with networking with the other computers on my home network.

My three windows computers can see my Linux machine and can access the files on it OK

My linux machine can see the workgroup (called workgroup) on my windows network and I have intermittently been able to see the icons for the other three computers in the network window - but I am unable to access them. Im getting the error - UNABLE TO MOUNT LOCATION - Failed to retrieve file list from server,.

Can anyone tell me where to start looking?

David
philthefluter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:30 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby TheDynamicHamza21 on Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:03 pm

I don't know much about networks but this may help.

Run terminal and enter this command

gksudo gedit /etc/hosts

and add computer ip address and name in hosts file. Save and exit.

Sample ip and name:

192.168.120.65 blablaPcName

Thats all.
http://askubuntu.com/questions/74789/fa ... e-with-nau



viewtopic.php?f=157&t=93976#p547287
viewtopic.php?f=42&t=88146&start=0
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2095894
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2099018
Linux Registered User: # 573034

www.domeshotsandfatlaces.com
User avatar
TheDynamicHamza21
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 780
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2012 7:24 pm
Location: California

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby altair4 on Sun Feb 03, 2013 3:01 pm

Please go through the checklist first:

Samba Browsing Problems Checklist: viewtopic.php?f=42&t=88146&start=0

If you still have issues post the output of the following commannds:
Code: Select all
testparm -s

Code: Select all
smbtree
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6211
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby bobsmith on Tue Feb 05, 2013 12:28 am

To TheDynamicHamza21:

I'm not the OP, but I was searching for a quick fix for the same issue and tripped upon your post. I wasn't able to access a Windows PC after being able to access it for some time. It just stopped working out of the blue. Your post completely solved the issue. I was able to immediately shoot to the Windows PC without the grinding/searching it used to do. It shot to the Windows PC instantaneously. Thanks!
Linux Mint 17 Mate, 16GB RAM, 64 bit Intel CPU
bobsmith
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jan 05, 2009 4:37 pm

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby philthefluter on Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:35 pm

To Dynamichamza21

Thanks for the advice. However when I run this command in terminal all I get is this

david@david-M7x0K ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/hosts
david@david-M7x0K ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/hosts
david@david-M7x0K ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/hosts
david@david-M7x0K ~ $

I dont get any other results. What am I doing wrong? Asypu can see I tried it three times. Im feeling a bit stupid already....
philthefluter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:30 pm

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby philthefluter on Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:40 pm

hello altair4

Thanks for the advice. I tried the 5 stage fix you suggested to no avail. I post the results of the other commandsyou suggested below

david@david-M7x0K ~ $ testparm -s
Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
Processing section "[printers]"
Processing section "[print$]"
Processing section "[david]"
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
[global]
server string = %h server (Samba, LinuxMint)
map to guest = Bad User
obey pam restrictions = Yes
pam password change = Yes
passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
unix password sync = Yes
syslog = 0
log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
max log size = 1000
dns proxy = No
wins support = Yes
usershare allow guests = Yes
panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
idmap config * : backend = tdb

[printers]
comment = All Printers
path = /var/spool/samba
create mask = 0700
printable = Yes
print ok = Yes
browseable = No

[print$]
comment = Printer Drivers
path = /var/lib/samba/printers

[david]
path = /home/david
guest ok = Yes
david@david-M7x0K ~ $

avid@david-M7x0K ~ $ smbtree
Enter david's password:
WORKGROUP
\\DAVID-M7X0K david-M7x0K server (Samba, LinuxMint)
\\DAVID-M7X0K\Epson-Stylus-SX410 EPSON Epson Stylus SX410
\\DAVID-M7X0K\IPC$ IPC Service (david-M7x0K server (Samba, LinuxMint))
\\DAVID-M7X0K\david
\\DAVID-M7X0K\print$ Printer Drivers
philthefluter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:30 pm

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby altair4 on Tue Feb 05, 2013 4:49 pm

hello altair4

Thanks for the advice. I tried the 5 stage fix you suggested to no avail.

Liar Liar Pants On Fire :wink: You didn't do this one or it would show up in the output of the "testparm -s" command:
Rearrange the order to make bcast first by adding a line to the [global] section - right under the "workgroup" line:
Code: Select all
name resolve order = bcast host lmhosts wins

Then restart samba:
Code: Select all
sudo service smbd restart
sudo service nmbd restart

Wait 5 minutes or so and then see if "testparm -s" shows the line and then see if smbtree shows your windows machines.
Last edited by altair4 on Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6211
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby altair4 on Tue Feb 05, 2013 5:01 pm

philthefluter wrote:However when I run this command in terminal all I get is this

david@david-M7x0K ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/hosts
david@david-M7x0K ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/hosts
david@david-M7x0K ~ $ gksudo gedit /etc/hosts
david@david-M7x0K ~ $

I dont get any other results.

I don't know what's going on there. Can you open nemo as root and double click the hosts file to edit it?
Code: Select all
gksu nemo /etc

EDIT: Just so happens I had a VBox VM of Mint14-Mate opened up and I ran: "gksudo gedit /etc/hosts". Know what happens? THe same thing that happened to you. You using Mate by any chance. Does this work:
Code: Select all
gksudo pluma /etc/hosts

BTW, the only way this method of creating a lookup table in /etc/hosts will work consistently is if all the machines on your network have static ip addresses. If your router is giving out ip addresses using dhcp then with 4 machines the possibility is good that some of them will not have the same ip address the next time they boot.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6211
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Linux mint networking issue

Postby philthefluter on Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:22 pm

Hello again Altair4

Good news - gksudo pluma etc/hosts command worked. I have added the IP addresses and computer names of windows computers and I can now see their folders and files.
# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
192.168.1.67 David-Laptop
192.168.1.65 Joan-PC

One tip for anyone else who has this issue. You need to add the computers in ascending order of IP address. Otherwise if doesnt work.

Thanks to all who contributed
philthefluter
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2013 5:30 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot], panorain and 34 guests