automount without opening?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

automount without opening?

Postby SandrA on Sun Feb 10, 2013 1:15 pm

Hi
I've got music on an external hard drive which mounts happily. It also opens as a folder window though, which I don't want it to do. I'm sure there's a very simple preference to change this but the only ones I can find are to do with CDs etc.
Please help!
S
LM 14 Cinnamon on Dell Latitude D620
SandrA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:22 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: automount without opening?

Postby jungle_boy on Sun Feb 10, 2013 8:45 pm

What LM are you using?

LM11; LM12; LM13 or LM 14

What DE?

(mate, kde, cinnamon, xfce, lmde, lxde, fluxbox)
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1215
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: automount without opening?

Postby SandrA on Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:44 am

I'm sorry, it's LM 14 / Cinnamon.
S
LM 14 Cinnamon on Dell Latitude D620
SandrA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:22 am

Re: automount without opening?

Postby gibbs1984 on Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:19 am

A popup should open asking you what you want to do, select nothing and tick the check box.
Linux Mint 17 (Cinnamon) 32bit.
User avatar
gibbs1984
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:40 pm
Location: Hemel Hempstead, England

Re: automount without opening?

Postby SandrA on Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:03 am

I've certainly seen that under Windows but not with this OS. Is there a way to get to the preference this popup would offer if it doesn't show?
Thanks,
S
LM 14 Cinnamon on Dell Latitude D620
SandrA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:22 am

Re: automount without opening?

Postby jungle_boy on Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:23 am

SandrA wrote:Hi
I've got music on an external hard drive which mounts happily. It also opens as a folder window though, which I don't want it to do. I'm sure there's a very simple preference to change this but the only ones I can find are to do with CDs etc.
Please help!
S


Main Menu>System Tools>System Settings>System Section>Details>Removal Media

Check "Never prompt or start programs on media insertion"

Close.

No CD, no DVD, no usb stick, no media will start automatically, only will be mounted.
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1215
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Re: automount without opening?

Postby gibbs1984 on Mon Feb 11, 2013 2:55 pm

SandrA wrote:I've certainly seen that under Windows but not with this OS. Is there a way to get to the preference this popup would offer if it doesn't show?
Thanks,
S

Strange, certainly does when mount anything on my LM14 Cinnamon desktop.

So you've never seen anything like the below?

Image
Linux Mint 17 (Cinnamon) 32bit.
User avatar
gibbs1984
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:40 pm
Location: Hemel Hempstead, England

Re: automount without opening?

Postby SandrA on Thu Feb 14, 2013 7:36 am

Thanks guys. In Preferences I have:
CD audio & DVD video set to Ask what to do; Music player & Photos to Do nothing; Software to Autorun Prompt; under Other Media settings set to Ask what to do.

I did get the popup window gibbs1984 mentions when I first started using LM but there doesn't appear to be an option that covers my external drive, which apart from a couple of .txt. files exclusively has audio files on it. Or at least I'm not understanding how to find the option.

Maybe I should just set all of these menu options to Do nothing ...?

A confused Sandra
LM 14 Cinnamon on Dell Latitude D620
SandrA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:22 am

Re: automount without opening?

Postby caribriz on Thu Feb 14, 2013 8:46 am

jungle_boy is right -

Check the box at the bottom of the System Tools > System Settings > Details > Removable Media screen

System Settings Details.png
System Settings Details.png (44.81 KiB) Viewed 300 times
Image
Desktop: C2D E6400 / Asus P5LD2SE / 2GB ram / Asus GeForce 210 / 320GB (WinXP) & 1TB (Mint - various)
Laptop: Asus A53E-SX1455V - i5 2450M / 4GB ram / Intel HD 3000 / 500GB (Win7/Mint 17 Cinnamon)
caribriz
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 877
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 7:43 am

Re: automount without opening?

Postby SandrA on Thu Feb 14, 2013 9:36 am

Thank you very much for pointing me back to jungle.boy's posting and apologies to him that I hadn't read his message properly. My reading of opening a 'program' didn't encompass opening a folder, which just got in the way of doing exactly what he had suggested.

Fixed now - many thanks again - I promise to read postings more carefully in future (!).

x S
LM 14 Cinnamon on Dell Latitude D620
SandrA
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 10:22 am

Re: automount without opening?

Postby jungle_boy on Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:23 pm

OK.

Thanks caribriz by help me with the snapshot!


[SOLVED]
LM17 Cinnamon (PC and Notebook) with AMD Catalyst
HP Pavilion g4-1316br, AMD Quad Core, 1,5 GHz, Radeon 6520G/7450M,
Image
Linuxcounter Registered User #506065 (2008)
User avatar
jungle_boy
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1215
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 2:51 pm
Location: Amazon Rain Forest, Brazil

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Incentive I.C, jb2012, ken75, slipstick, Wompoo and 39 guests