Could not update ICEauthority

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
jhehe

Could not update ICEauthority

Post by jhehe »

Hi,

This is my first time using Linux Mint. I've heard that it is one of the best built, and you know me, only go for the best :D. As of right now, I'm trying to boot Linux Mint on my net book as my already installed Windows 7 Ultimate isn't really "ultimate" and really slows down my system. After all, net books are just for basic web browsing and nothing else so decided to try out Linux Mint.

I downloaded unetbootin and created a bootable flash drive. Then I restarted my computer and selected the boot from flash drive option. This failed as I got a blank screen with a white dash at the top left. Over at the Pinguy forum, I learned that this is a graphics problem. However, I ended up not using Pinguy because there is no install from Windows option and Linux Mint does. I looked in my flash drive and saw an application for installing LM through Windows. Note, I am using a bootable flash drive, extracted everything to the flash drive using unetbootin.