Trouble trying to set up SSH key

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Trouble trying to set up SSH key

Postby gazzc77 on Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:43 pm

Hi there, I am new to linux, having only started using it last week. I have some basic understanding of how it works from reading online tutorials and have managed to get quite a few things set up and working just how I want them but I am having trouble getting SSH to work without password authentication and instead using a key. I must have spent a good 4 hours now and each time I get the same reply that the 'server refused out key' and was hoping somebody here can help me. :)
There are a variety of tutorials to do this that I have seen but they all list slightly different or contradicting methods or have poor English and are hard to understand for a beginner and none so far have resulted in a successful authentication via the key.

So I will give some details and hope for a reply:

I am logging into the box via windows using putty and this program is pretty self explanatory for most of it, I have created a public and private key using the putty generator and made sure putty uses that key when connecting (for troubleshooting purposes I left the key password blank).
After this is where I get confused, the websites I visit all show different formatting for how I should paste this key into the authorized_keys file so my problem may lie here, some sites say to add bits to the end of the key, others say to delete bits, some say to make sure there is a blank space at the start and some don't. I also have conflicting advice on what permissions to set.