How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby Flame_Phoenix on Thu Mar 14, 2013 4:52 pm

Hello gentleman, I am using Linux Mint 64v with Cinamon. I know how to add virtual desktops (workspaces) one by one, but I can't go from my workspace 3 back to 1 again (per example, assuming I have 3 workspaces), I am always forced to go all the way back, which is really annoying to say the least. I know Ubuntu has this featured enabled, so why can't I have it here too? What steps do I need to make?

PS: To move between desktops I use CTRL + ALT + LEFT (or RIGHT)
Last edited by Flame_Phoenix on Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Flame_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby passerby on Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:21 pm

Are you saying you want to be able to do crtl alt right to move from 3 to 1, or do you just desire some way to jump from one to the other directly?
If you want a direct method, you could use the workspace applet and click on the one you desire, or use Workspace selection/compiz expo.
There are also extensions for similar functionality, such as http://cinnamon-spices.linuxmint.com/extensions/view/17
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1374
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby eanfrid on Thu Mar 14, 2013 7:31 pm

This option is not natively present in cinnamon 1.6 but it is in 1.7+
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
True private storage on SpiderOak
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: => ~

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby Flame_Phoenix on Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:48 pm

Are you saying you want to be able to do crtl alt right to move from 3 to 1

yes exactly! How do I do it?
or do you just desire some way to jump from one to the other directly?

Certainly would not mind that at all as well :D Thanks for the applet suggestion, but I really feel the need for the first question.

This option is not natively present in cinnamon 1.6 but it is in 1.7+

How do I know which cinamon version I am using?
If I am using 1.6 how can I add the functionality?
If I am using 1.7+ what do I need to do to enable it?
Flame_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby passerby on Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:16 pm

1.7+ aren't yet stable. You can get them, for example, by adding the cinnamon nightly ppa, but I strongly suggest waiting for the next version of Cinnamon to reach stable (and thus become a simple upgrade).
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1374
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby Flame_Phoenix on Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:15 am

So, that means that for now I can't cycle from 3 to 1? Well that sucks big time -.- Other window managers (like KDE) support it.
Flame_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby eanfrid on Fri Mar 15, 2013 8:39 am

On the other hand, Cinnamon is not a 16-years old project as is KDE. There will be many improvements and new features in the next 1.8 version (1.7 is for devs and testers) due to April 2013.
Main desktop: Debian GNU/Linux Wheezy 64bit w/custom 3.14 longterm kernel - MATE 1.8.1
(i5 2400@3.7GHz - 16GB DDR3 - HD6770 w/radeon driver - SSD+RAID1)
True private storage on SpiderOak
User avatar
eanfrid
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1773
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2012 2:49 am
Location: => ~

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby gibbs1984 on Fri Mar 15, 2013 12:51 pm

I know it doesn't take you there directly as such but you could always use CTRL + ALT + Up which takes you to a sort of overall view of your workspaces.
Linux Mint 17 (Cinnamon) 32bit.
User avatar
gibbs1984
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 663
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:40 pm
Location: Hemel Hempstead, England

Re: How to cycle through workspaces in Cinamon?

Postby Flame_Phoenix on Sat Mar 16, 2013 10:39 am

I already knew about CTRL+ALT+UP / DOWN. Suffice to say it's simply not the same thing - it's worst. xD
Guess I'll have to wait.
Flame_Phoenix
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Mute Ant and 26 guests