14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:46 pm

Hi ... I can do a clean installment of Mint 14 KDE. Mate and Cinn but I can't do so with any of Mint 13 versions . Is there something I need to do prior to installment ? I'm doing a dvd boot option. I also have try to burn more than one iso disc at the lowest speed ( 2x ) and still a no go with any of Mint 13 versions . But its not the case with Mint 14 versions . So what am I doing wrong , thanks
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby DrHu on Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:24 pm

Have an empty partition available for the Linux install
--that is a clean install, because there is no user data in the partition; so any additional user settings (themes..) and applications will be up to you

Install methods..
https://www.linux.com/learn/docs/ldp/28 ... on-methods
http://www.techotopia.com/index.php/Per ... stallation
User avatar
DrHu
Level 17
Level 17
 
Posts: 7037
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:00 pm

DrHu wrote:Have an empty partition available for the Linux install
--that is a clean install, because there is no user data in the partition; so any additional user settings (themes..) and applications will be up to you

That right it is a formatted empty drive . But with 13 versions it will not load . 14 versions I have no problems loading and afterwards able to install , but not with 13 versions . Why doesn't 13 versions load were I can later install ?
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby passerby on Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:47 pm

It may be that mint 13 doesn't support your hardware properly by default, if your hardware is new-ish.
In my case, only kernel 3.5+ will boot, so Mint 13 won't run but 14 will.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1375
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:48 pm

passerby wrote:It may be that mint 13 doesn't support your hardware properly by default, if your hardware is new-ish.
In my case, only kernel 3.5+ will boot, so Mint 13 won't run but 14 will.


I guess your right . I'm using an old Gateway mx6025 model laptop . I always wanted to learn Linux and I thought Linux were great with older PCs or lappies . Maybe I need an older Linux version.

Thanks for your input
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby passerby on Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:15 pm

If it's an old laptop, I don't think it's a matter of 13 being too new, especially if 14 works. More like 13 is missing a driver that the laptop needs.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1375
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:45 pm

passerby wrote:If it's an old laptop, I don't think it's a matter of 13 being too new, especially if 14 works. More like 13 is missing a driver that the laptop needs.

Again, your probably right . Thought I wouldn't know which or how to load a driver for Linux since I never used it before . Its not like windows LOL . I guess I will just use 14 and try to get a grip on how to use linux . I'm not using it for anything special but to learn . So if I screw up or have to reinstall it over and over it wouldn't matter to me , its just a learning thing for me at the moment . Thanks
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests