14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 1:46 pm

Hi ... I can do a clean installment of Mint 14 KDE. Mate and Cinn but I can't do so with any of Mint 13 versions . Is there something I need to do prior to installment ? I'm doing a dvd boot option. I also have try to burn more than one iso disc at the lowest speed ( 2x ) and still a no go with any of Mint 13 versions . But its not the case with Mint 14 versions . So what am I doing wrong , thanks
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby DrHu on Sat Mar 16, 2013 2:24 pm

Have an empty partition available for the Linux install
--that is a clean install, because there is no user data in the partition; so any additional user settings (themes..) and applications will be up to you

Install methods..
https://www.linux.com/learn/docs/ldp/28 ... on-methods
http://www.techotopia.com/index.php/Per ... stallation
User avatar
DrHu
Level 16
Level 16
 
Posts: 6292
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 8:20 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 3:00 pm

DrHu wrote:Have an empty partition available for the Linux install
--that is a clean install, because there is no user data in the partition; so any additional user settings (themes..) and applications will be up to you

That right it is a formatted empty drive . But with 13 versions it will not load . 14 versions I have no problems loading and afterwards able to install , but not with 13 versions . Why doesn't 13 versions load were I can later install ?
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby passerby on Sat Mar 16, 2013 5:47 pm

It may be that mint 13 doesn't support your hardware properly by default, if your hardware is new-ish.
In my case, only kernel 3.5+ will boot, so Mint 13 won't run but 14 will.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:48 pm

passerby wrote:It may be that mint 13 doesn't support your hardware properly by default, if your hardware is new-ish.
In my case, only kernel 3.5+ will boot, so Mint 13 won't run but 14 will.


I guess your right . I'm using an old Gateway mx6025 model laptop . I always wanted to learn Linux and I thought Linux were great with older PCs or lappies . Maybe I need an older Linux version.

Thanks for your input
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby passerby on Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:15 pm

If it's an old laptop, I don't think it's a matter of 13 being too new, especially if 14 works. More like 13 is missing a driver that the laptop needs.
Home PC: Xubuntu 14.04 x64, Nvidia GTX650, i7 3770K, 16GB RAM, Asus Xonar DX
Work PC: Mint 13 x64 XFCE, Nvidia GT620, i5 3470, 8GB RAM
Laptop: System76 Kudu Pro, Xubuntu 14.04 x64

My HTML5 login themes + screenshots
User avatar
passerby
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 7:29 pm

Re: 14 is a Yes but 13 is a No , Why ?

Postby MintKDE416 on Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:45 pm

passerby wrote:If it's an old laptop, I don't think it's a matter of 13 being too new, especially if 14 works. More like 13 is missing a driver that the laptop needs.

Again, your probably right . Thought I wouldn't know which or how to load a driver for Linux since I never used it before . Its not like windows LOL . I guess I will just use 14 and try to get a grip on how to use linux . I'm not using it for anything special but to learn . So if I screw up or have to reinstall it over and over it wouldn't matter to me , its just a learning thing for me at the moment . Thanks
MintKDE416
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:33 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hansi and 37 guests