Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?[SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?[SOLVED]

Postby Cariboo on Tue Apr 02, 2013 4:47 pm

Hi,
I don't know where or to whom I can address the following issue:
I run Linux 3.5.0-17-generic #28-Ubuntu SMP Tue Oct 9 19:31:23 UTC 2012 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux on my desktop computer and I use either Firefox (installed version: 19.0.2+build1-0ububntu0.12.10.1) or Chromium (Installed version: 24.0.1312.56-0ubuntu0.12.10.3)for Iinternet browsing.
Once in a while I upload pictures from my home town to "The Weather Network". If I need to edit the upload due to spelling errors etc. I have to use either of the browsers under Windows7 Home (my second OS on this computer) to accomplish this task.
The attached screenshot shows that under Linux the opened text line covers the Save/Cancel buttons so that I can not finish/save the edited text.
May be there is somebody out there who reads this and who can give my some advice what I could do to avoid the fall back to Window7.
Attachments
Screenshot from WeatherNetwork.png
The issue is circled in red....
Last edited by Cariboo on Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Self-built MSI-785GM-E51 Desktop, Dual boot: LM15-64bit-Cinnamon and Win7-64bit , Samsung Galaxy S4 un-locked.
User avatar
Cariboo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:00 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?

Postby metalcorpe on Wed Apr 03, 2013 6:27 am

HI!!!!
first of all if this is a problem for more than one browser on the Linux system then is a linux system problem
if i happens only in chromium then it's the chromium that has the problem

is use chrome as browser an i had some problems when i used to browse with chromium

I hope I've been helpfull
metalcorpe
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?

Postby Cariboo on Tue Apr 09, 2013 3:17 pm

metalcorpe wrote:HI!!!!
first of all if this is a problem for more than one browser on the Linux system then is a linux system problem


:?:
The issue if for both - Firefox and Chromium - so I wonder how I could fix it if it is a Linux problem?
:?:
Self-built MSI-785GM-E51 Desktop, Dual boot: LM15-64bit-Cinnamon and Win7-64bit , Samsung Galaxy S4 un-locked.
User avatar
Cariboo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:00 pm

Re: Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?

Postby metalcorpe on Thu Apr 18, 2013 4:00 pm

is java script enable????
metalcorpe
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?

Postby MtnDewManiac on Fri Apr 19, 2013 6:36 pm

Try this in Firefox:

When you are on a page where part of the text is blocked, press Control-- (err... That doesn't look right :roll: . Hold the Control key and press the - (minus) key).

If it helps a little, but not enough, press it again.

Whether it helps or not, to go back to the original font sizes, you may either press Control-+ (Control and + (plus)) to increase by one size per press, or press Control-0 to go to "original size."

The above actually decreases/increases everything (text, pictures, et cetera). There is a setting in Firefox's View/Zoom menu that will allow you to configure this behavior to only affect text.

Hope this helps,
MDM
_____
Proud to be a Mint user. Running 32-bit Mint 14 Xfce (with Xfce 4.10 and 4.12 PPAs). I have the best modern OS and it runs on my really old hardware, lol.
"Change should never be your goal but, instead, only a means to reach your goal."
MtnDewManiac
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 5:18 pm

Re: Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?

Postby Cariboo on Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:26 am

MtnDewManiac wrote:Try this in Firefox:

......... There is a setting in Firefox's View/Zoom menu that will allow you to configure this behavior to only affect text.
Hope this helps,
MDM

Yes, this helped in Firefox:
---> View
---> Zoom ---. Check-mark "Zoom Text Only"
---> and again View, Zoom and now
---> Zoom Out

Thanks for the help :D

PS.; I'll try in Chromium later...keep you posted!
Self-built MSI-785GM-E51 Desktop, Dual boot: LM15-64bit-Cinnamon and Win7-64bit , Samsung Galaxy S4 un-locked.
User avatar
Cariboo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:00 pm

Re: Chromuim Browser or LinuxMint OS issue?[SOLVED]

Postby Cariboo on Sat Apr 20, 2013 1:26 am

MtnDewManiac wrote:Try this in Firefox:

......... There is a setting in Firefox's View/Zoom menu that will allow you to configure this behavior to only affect text.
Hope this helps,
MDM

Yes, this helped in Firefox:
---> View
---> Zoom ---. Check-mark "Zoom Text Only"
---> and again View, Zoom and now
---> Zoom Out

Thanks for the help :D

PS.; I'll try in Chromium later...keep you posted!

For Chromium:
---> find "Customize and control Chromium" (upper right corner 3 horizontal lines Icon)
---> Settings ---> Show advanced settings
---> under Web content select "Customise fonts..."
---> Reduce font size (in my case from 16 to 15)
:D
Self-built MSI-785GM-E51 Desktop, Dual boot: LM15-64bit-Cinnamon and Win7-64bit , Samsung Galaxy S4 un-locked.
User avatar
Cariboo
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2008 10:00 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: exchaoordo, Google Adsense [Bot], johnniedoo, Mute Ant and 34 guests