PyPM

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

PyPM

Postby RBR on Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:06 pm

I am new to Linux and want to install pycollada, using the python package manager PyPM.

But the pypm command is not recognised in the terminal, and the mint software manager does not know pycollada nor PyPM.

Does anyone know how to do this?

Thanks!
Last edited by RBR on Sat Jun 29, 2013 5:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
RBR
Level 1
Level 1

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.

Re: PyPM

Postby overthetop on Wed Apr 10, 2013 3:15 pm

See http://pycollada.github.io/install.html. (see the instructions for Ubuntu)
"A wise man can learn more from a foolish question than a fool can learn from a wise answer." -- Bruce Lee
overthetop
Level 4
Level 4

Postby mockturtl on Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:00 pm

PyPM is part of the commercial "ActivePython" implementation. You don't need it on Linux; python 2.7 and 3.2 are preinstalled.

(The whole story of installing is different on Linux. You don't browse the web and download programs; 95% of all the software you want is available in the distro's "repository." You install these "packages" through the Software Manager, or the command line. You get automatic updates for everything.)

http://packages.linuxmint.com/
http://packages.ubuntu.com/

Similarly, the python ecosystem consists of a package repository, "PyPI." You get these modules with the `pip` command. (`easy_install` is an alternative to pip.)