Mint and Windows on separate hdd

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Mint and Windows on separate hdd

Postby leroy on Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:42 pm

I want to install mint 14 on one hard drive, on the other I already have windows 8. Do I need 32 or 64 version of mint, I have windows 8 32. My plan is to plug only one hard drive and install mint on it, then plug in the other with windows 8 or can I leave both hard drives plug in.
I had Linux Ubuntu 12.10 for a few hours which hasn’t worked properly, sound didn’t worked on all the speakers, NVidia driver wouldn’t install (only beta) and system couldn’t start properly, how you call it start menu didn’t show. Can I expect the same problems in mint?
Thanks in advance
leroy
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 12:39 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Mint and Windows on separate hdd

Postby Pierre on Sun Apr 14, 2013 1:51 am

if you BIOS will support it, you can select either O/S at the start-up,
- if so, then install the Mint onto the 2nd HDD, & without the win_8 HDD being connected to the PC.
- then connect both & select the required HDD at start_up

otherwise, just hook_up the 2nd HDD & install Mint onto that HDD
- be sure to let the Mint installer set it's boot_loader onto the 1st HDD.
& always leave both HDDs connected, - at all times.
use the menu to select the required O/S.

however, Win_8 may give other issues, - if it is a new PC with only Win_8 on it .. ..

you can use Mint 32bit, as you already have Win_8 32bit.
Image
User avatar
Pierre
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1225
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2008 5:33 am
Location: Perth, AU.

Re: Mint and Windows on separate hdd

Postby caf4926 on Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:17 am

Is the BIOS EFI?

It's likely your machine is 64 bit

Why not try the live session first, that will give you an idea of how things will work

When running if you open a terminal and get the result of

Code: Select all
inxi -F
then let us see it. That will help
Image
Mint 16 Cinnamon_64
User avatar
caf4926
Level 7
Level 7
 
Posts: 1778
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 3:21 pm
Location: UK Lake District


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Yahoo [Bot] and 31 guests