Networking Notworking! (SOLVED)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Networking Notworking! (SOLVED)

Postby TuftyDave on Sat Apr 13, 2013 8:48 pm

I wish someone could solve this one for me....
I have 3 computers on my LAN
2 windows and 1 Linux Mint 14
The two Windows machines see the Linux machine on the network with them (Haven't got into access yet, but at least they SEE the Linux)

On my Linux machine (in Nemo 1.1.2) I click 'Network'
I see 'Windows Network' icon
I click it and I get "Unable to mount location Failed to retrieve share list from server"
I've now spent hours following various 'solutions' to this problem yet none of them work for me!

I've added the fixed ip addresses and names of the two windows machines in /etc/hosts
I've done various edits on "/etc/samba/smb.conf" all of which told me they would solve this problem, none of them did.

I can use Linux commands to check the existence of the other two machines...
dave@dave-P5Q ~ $ nmblookup -A 192.168.0.100
Looking up status of 192.168.0.100
TOSH <00> - B <ACTIVE>
MSHOME <00> - <GROUP> B <ACTIVE>
TOSH <20> - B <ACTIVE>
MSHOME <1e> - <GROUP> B <ACTIVE>

There it is sitting there waiting! But NOTHING I do will show anything other than "Unable to mount location Failed to retrieve share list from server" when I try to get at the machines from Nemo.

Can anyone help more. Might I have done other damage by trying all the things I've tried that haven't worked?
Last edited by TuftyDave on Mon May 06, 2013 11:42 am, edited 3 times in total.
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby Dominosdad on Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:59 pm

"Unable to mount location Failed to retrieve share list from server"

Me too. Exactly the same.
I haven't tried all those things, I wouldn't know how, but then we shouldn't have to.
I just don't understand why there isn't the equivalent of what I can do with WIndows.
I use simple shares, I set permissions on folders I want to share as "shared" using the folder properties.
Mint doesn't seem to have a way to make a directory shareable or to make it visible over the network. I don't mind, even prefer, layers of security - but currently there is nothing that I can even access.
Mapping a directory on my Mint machine as a drive on a Windows machine (as I can do across Windows machines) or vice versa, seems like a dream at the moment.
Dominosdad
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2013 6:44 pm
Location: London

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:47 pm

This and not being able to use my printer (which was networked for my wifi laptops to use) means I'll probably just have to go back to Windows.
It's a real shame as I really do want to support open source & I really don't want to support Gates' empire.
But I want to be able to use my computers & network & printers.
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:50 pm

Someone else quite rightly said "Linux should do networking really well as loads of the big ISP's use dozens of Linux servers"
If that's true, why is it almost impossible for an individual to set up an incredibly simple network, or at least to be able to get the help to do so?
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby krillerill on Mon Apr 15, 2013 7:41 pm

do Firefox address
"smb://ip.of.windows.computer.work" ?
krillerill
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:45 pm

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby roblm on Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:36 pm

What version of Windows do you have. Can the two Windows computers access each other's shared folders.
Is the Windows firewall activated on them or are you using some other firewall program.
Is the firewall activated on the Linux computer (gufw).
User avatar
roblm
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:44 am

Hi krillerill
Yes that works and I can see and access the files no problem!

So if firefox can see and access the shared LAN resources why on earth can't the Linux operating system!

roblm the network has been set-up and working perfectly for years as long as it's all windows.
It's only when I introduce this Linux box that I'm getting any problems, and as I've said I can issue Linux commands that prove Linux CAN actually see the windows machines and access their data!

So it's all there and it all works, but in Nemo if you click 'Network' and then 'Windows Network' all I EVER get is :- "Unable to mount location Failed to retrieve share list from server"

No matter what I do.
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby altair4 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:40 am

Post the output of the following commands please:
Code: Select all
testparm -s

Code: Select all
smbtree
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5516
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:58 am

testparm -s
Load smb config files from /etc/samba/smb.conf
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
Processing section "[printers]"
Processing section "[print$]"
Loaded services file OK.
Server role: ROLE_STANDALONE
[global]
workgroup = MSHOME
server string = %h server (Samba, LinuxMint)
map to guest = Bad User
obey pam restrictions = Yes
pam password change = Yes
passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
unix password sync = Yes
syslog = 0
log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
max log size = 1000
name resolve order = bcast host lmhosts wins
dns proxy = No
usershare allow guests = Yes
panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
idmap config * : backend = tdb

[printers]
comment = All Printers
path = /var/spool/samba
create mask = 0700
printable = Yes
print ok = Yes
browseable = No

[print$]
comment = Printer Drivers
path = /var/lib/samba/printers


dave@dave-P5Q ~ $ smbtree
Enter dave's password:
(Tried this twice...
dave@dave-P5Q ~ $ smbtree
Enter dave's password:
dave@dave-P5Q ~ $

So No output from smbtree
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:07 am

Here's the output from smbtree with full debugging turned on.

smbtree -d10
INFO: Current debug levels:
all: 10
tdb: 10
printdrivers: 10
lanman: 10
smb: 10
rpc_parse: 10
rpc_srv: 10
rpc_cli: 10
passdb: 10
sam: 10
auth: 10
winbind: 10
vfs: 10
idmap: 10
quota: 10
acls: 10
locking: 10
msdfs: 10
dmapi: 10
registry: 10
lp_load_ex: refreshing parameters
Initialising global parameters
rlimit_max: increasing rlimit_max (1024) to minimum Windows limit (16384)
INFO: Current debug levels:
all: 10
tdb: 10
printdrivers: 10
lanman: 10
smb: 10
rpc_parse: 10
rpc_srv: 10
rpc_cli: 10
passdb: 10
sam: 10
auth: 10
winbind: 10
vfs: 10
idmap: 10
quota: 10
acls: 10
locking: 10
msdfs: 10
dmapi: 10
registry: 10
params.c:pm_process() - Processing configuration file "/etc/samba/smb.conf"
Processing section "[global]"
doing parameter server string = %h server (Samba, LinuxMint)
doing parameter dns proxy = no
doing parameter netbios name = dave-P5Q
handle_netbios_name: set global_myname to: DAVE-P5Q
doing parameter workgroup = MSHOME
doing parameter name resolve order = bcast host lmhosts wins
doing parameter log file = /var/log/samba/log.%m
doing parameter max log size = 1000
doing parameter syslog = 0
doing parameter panic action = /usr/share/samba/panic-action %d
doing parameter encrypt passwords = true
doing parameter passdb backend = tdbsam
doing parameter obey pam restrictions = yes
doing parameter unix password sync = yes
doing parameter passwd program = /usr/bin/passwd %u
doing parameter passwd chat = *Enter\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *Retype\snew\s*\spassword:* %n\n *password\supdated\ssuccessfully* .
doing parameter pam password change = yes
doing parameter map to guest = bad user
doing parameter usershare allow guests = yes
pm_process() returned Yes
lp_servicenumber: couldn't find homes
set_server_role: role = ROLE_STANDALONE
Substituting charset 'UTF-8' for LOCALE
added interface eth0 ip=fe80::222:15ff:fe68:2560%eth0 bcast=fe80::ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff%eth0 netmask=ffff:ffff:ffff:ffff::
added interface eth0 ip=192.168.0.102 bcast=192.168.0.255 netmask=255.255.255.0
Enter dave's password:
internal_resolve_name: looking up MSHOME#1d (sitename (null))
Opening cache file at /var/run/samba/gencache.tdb
tdb(/var/run/samba/gencache.tdb): tdb_open_ex: could not open file /var/run/samba/gencache.tdb: Permission denied
gencache_init: Opening cache file /var/run/samba/gencache.tdb read-only.
Opening cache file at /var/run/samba/gencache_notrans.tdb
no entry for MSHOME#1D found.
name_resolve_bcast: Attempting broadcast lookup for name MSHOME<0x1d>
bind succeeded on port 0
Socket options:
SO_KEEPALIVE = 0
SO_REUSEADDR = 1
SO_BROADCAST = 1
Could not test socket option TCP_NODELAY.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPCNT.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPIDLE.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPINTVL.
IPTOS_LOWDELAY = 0
IPTOS_THROUGHPUT = 0
SO_SNDBUF = 212992
SO_RCVBUF = 212992
SO_SNDLOWAT = 1
SO_RCVLOWAT = 1
SO_SNDTIMEO = 0
SO_RCVTIMEO = 0
Could not test socket option TCP_QUICKACK.
resolve_hosts: not appropriate for name type <0x1d>
resolve_lmhosts: Attempting lmhosts lookup for name MSHOME<0x1d>
resolve_lmhosts: Attempting lmhosts lookup for name MSHOME<0x1d>
startlmhosts: Can't open lmhosts file /etc/samba/lmhosts. Error was No such file or directory
internal_resolve_name: looking up MSHOME#1b (sitename (null))
no entry for MSHOME#1B found.
name_resolve_bcast: Attempting broadcast lookup for name MSHOME<0x1b>
bind succeeded on port 0
Socket options:
SO_KEEPALIVE = 0
SO_REUSEADDR = 1
SO_BROADCAST = 1
Could not test socket option TCP_NODELAY.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPCNT.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPIDLE.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPINTVL.
IPTOS_LOWDELAY = 0
IPTOS_THROUGHPUT = 0
SO_SNDBUF = 212992
SO_RCVBUF = 212992
SO_SNDLOWAT = 1
SO_RCVLOWAT = 1
SO_SNDTIMEO = 0
SO_RCVTIMEO = 0
Could not test socket option TCP_QUICKACK.
resolve_hosts: not appropriate for name type <0x1b>
resolve_lmhosts: Attempting lmhosts lookup for name MSHOME<0x1b>
resolve_lmhosts: Attempting lmhosts lookup for name MSHOME<0x1b>
startlmhosts: Can't open lmhosts file /etc/samba/lmhosts. Error was No such file or directory
resolve_wins: Attempting wins lookup for name MSHOME<0x1b>
resolve_wins: WINS server resolution selected and no WINS servers listed.
Unable to find master browser for workgroup MSHOME, falling back to broadcast
name_resolve_bcast: Attempting broadcast lookup for name __MSBROWSE__<0x1>
bind succeeded on port 0
Socket options:
SO_KEEPALIVE = 0
SO_REUSEADDR = 1
SO_BROADCAST = 1
Could not test socket option TCP_NODELAY.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPCNT.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPIDLE.
Could not test socket option TCP_KEEPINTVL.
IPTOS_LOWDELAY = 0
IPTOS_THROUGHPUT = 0
SO_SNDBUF = 212992
SO_RCVBUF = 212992
SO_SNDLOWAT = 1
SO_RCVLOWAT = 1
SO_SNDTIMEO = 0
SO_RCVTIMEO = 0
Could not test socket option TCP_QUICKACK.
Unable to find master browser by broadcast
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby altair4 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:36 am

** start nmbd:
Code: Select all
sudo service nmbd start

If it says it's already started go to the next step.

If it wasn't started and the above command started it wait 5 minutes - seriously, 5 minutes - then try smbtree again. If still no output go to the next step.

** Turn off your firewall:
Code: Select all
sudo ufw disable

Then try smbtree again.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5516
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby roblm on Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:40 am

You didn't answer the question about what version of Windows are you using and what firewalls are being used.
User avatar
roblm
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Tue Apr 16, 2013 3:58 pm

roblm Sorry. Two different versions of windows.
Vista and XP
no firewall apart from the standard windows one.
I have some firewall entries in my router, but not blocking any LAN communication as you can see by the fact that I can communicate between linux and windows, but not when I click the 'windows Network' icon in Nemo.
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby altair4 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:10 pm

The jury is still out on whether there is a firewall issue or not.

The fact that you can connect by ip address means that samba is working. Not connecting by name is something else. Why not find out once and for all if this is a firewall issue:

Run the following command:
Code: Select all
sudo nmap -sS -sU -T4 192.168.0.100

If you don't have nmap installed it will tell you to install it.

Run it twice:

** Once replacing 192.168.0.100 with the ip address of the Linux box.
** And again with the ip address of the Windows box.

For browsing to work ( other than all the machines having to be in the same subnet ) the following ports need to be open:
PORT STATE SERVICE
139/tcp open netbios-ssn
445/tcp open microsoft-ds
137/udp open netbios-ns
138/udp open|filtered netbios-dgm
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5516
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:37 pm

Er sorry... you're right nmap isnt there, it just says :- sudo: nmap: command not found

How do I install it?
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby altair4 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:40 pm

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install nmap
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5516
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Tue Apr 16, 2013 4:54 pm

OK...
For Linux Machine:

Starting Nmap 6.00 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2013-04-16 21:51 BST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.0.102
Host is up (0.000014s latency).
Not shown: 1994 closed ports
PORT STATE SERVICE
139/tcp open netbios-ssn
445/tcp open microsoft-ds
68/udp open|filtered dhcpc
137/udp open netbios-ns
138/udp open|filtered netbios-dgm
5353/udp open|filtered zeroconf

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 12.31 seconds

For Windows XP machine:-

Starting Nmap 6.00 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2013-04-16 21:52 BST
Nmap scan report for STEVEVAIO (192.168.0.108)
Host is up (0.0020s latency).
Not shown: 999 open|filtered ports, 997 filtered ports
PORT STATE SERVICE
139/tcp open netbios-ssn
445/tcp open microsoft-ds
2869/tcp closed icslap
137/udp open netbios-ns
MAC Address:

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 8.32 seconds

For Vista Machine:-

Starting Nmap 6.00 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2013-04-16 21:54 BST
Nmap scan report for TOSH (192.168.0.100)
Host is up (0.0025s latency).
Not shown: 999 open|filtered ports, 992 filtered ports
PORT STATE SERVICE
135/tcp open msrpc
139/tcp open netbios-ssn
445/tcp open microsoft-ds
554/tcp open rtsp
2869/tcp open icslap
5357/tcp open wsdapi
10243/tcp open unknown
49156/tcp open unknown
137/udp open netbios-ns
MAC Address:

Nmap done: 1 IP address (1 host up) scanned in 8.79 seconds
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby TuftyDave on Tue Apr 16, 2013 5:20 pm

port 138 doesn't show on either windows machine. It only shows on the Linux.
TuftyDave
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 6:29 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby altair4 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:28 pm

This is what I would do if it were my network only because this has gone on long enough.

*** I would open port 138 on your windows machines and see if that fixes this thing.

There's only a few things left that interferes with browsing by name in Samba: Netbios name length, name resolve order, and the nmbd service not starting at boot time. It looks like you covered all these already.

*** It's possible that your router especially if it's a newer model and especially if it's from Linksys is interfering with all this. There is a way to circumvent this by making some additions to your smb.conf as outlined here: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=118653&p=659333#p658893

But you also might consider doing the poor mans version of browsing:

*** Give your Windows machines static ip addresses.
You can do that within the Windows OS itself but make sure the ip address you choose is beyond the routers normal dhcp range. For example, my router hands out ip addresses from 192168.0.100-150. If I wanted to set a machine with an ip address internally to the OS I would start with 192.168.0.151 and so on...

You can also see if your router can do this itself. Most routers have a way for it to assign the same ip address to a particular machine based on it's mac address - DLink routers calls it static DHCP.

** After they have static ip addresses you can either bookmark it by going to smb://some-ip-address and then select Bookmarks > Add bookmark.

** Or if you really want to browse to it then edit the following file: /etc/hosts and set up a lookup table, for example:
127.0.0.1 localhost
127.0.1.1 xubuntu1204
192.168.0.151 WinXP
192.168.0.152 WinVista


# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.
altair4
Level 15
Level 15
 
Posts: 5516
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2009 10:27 am

Re: Networking Notworking!

Postby roblm on Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:59 pm

TuftyDave, have you made any progress. If you want to pursue this problem, then I would like to see your "/etc/samba/smb.conf" file. All of the file's contents is not listed using testparm -s. Also the "/var/log/samba/log.nmbd" file and "/etc/hosts file" and the name and model # of your router.
Last edited by roblm on Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
roblm
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 436
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 2:41 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 
Next

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JustJazz and 26 guests