Freezing...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Freezing...

Postby BritishPatriot on Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:38 am

Hello everyone,

Okay, we really like Linux Mint 14, so I installed it (64-bit Cinnamon) on my wifes Acer N281G. It runs really smoothly, & is actually pretty fast, however, everything freezes up multiple times per hour, & this is really doing her & my head in.............please help! :cry:

Thanks...

Edit: The system actually came with Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, but the wife has always liked Linux, so she asked me to get shot of Win 7 & install Linux Mint instead! :D
BritishPatriot
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:33 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Freezing...

Postby xenopeek on Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:41 am

Please share the hardware specs of this machine. You can do so by running this command on the terminal and copying the result here.
Code: Select all
inxi -Fxz
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14502
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Freezing...

Postby BritishPatriot on Sun Apr 21, 2013 6:49 am

System: Host: simon-Veriton-N281G Kernel: 3.5.0-17-generic x86_64 (64 bit, gcc: 4.7.2)
Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 14 Nadia
Machine: System: Acer product: Veriton N281G
Mobo: Acer model: TPDS03 Bios: Acer version: P01-A3 date: 01/15/2011
CPU: Single core Intel Atom CPU D425 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3) bmips: 3590.94
Clock Speeds: 1: 1795.472 MHz 2: 1795.472 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Atom Processor D4xx/D5xx/N4xx/N5xx Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
X.Org: 1.13.0 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x768@60.0hz, 1024x768@60.0hz
GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel IGD GLX Version: 1.4 Mesa 9.0.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio: Card: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.25
Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
driver: r8169 ver: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e800 bus-ID: 03:00.0
IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Card-2: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci ver: 2.3.0 bus-ID: 02:00.0
IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives: HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (20.6% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD3200BPVT size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID: / size: 292G used: 62G (23%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 2.14GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
RAID: No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 45.0C mobo: 39.0C
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 134 Uptime: 28 min Memory: 419.2/1993.6MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.7.2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
BritishPatriot
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 5:33 am

Re: Freezing...

Postby xenopeek on Sun Apr 21, 2013 3:42 pm

Nothing immediately jumping out of that as a red flag. Though I don't like the Intel Atom D425 nor the Ralink RT3090, either the graphics or the wifi would be my suspect. If either of you is comfortable with it, after it freezes up open the file /var/log/syslog. Scroll to the end and start paging back two to or three minutes (see the timestamps at the beginning of each line) and look for any line with the word "error", "warn" or "warning" on them. If you can find such a line, that will likely hold the clue to what is happening.

As to the freeze; what actually freezes? Does it not respond to keyboard or mouse button presses, and do animations (like movie or flash) stop playing--but can you still move your mouse cursor, or toggle the keyboard leds (capslock, numlock, scroll lock)? Or does the screen go black? Or are you kicked back to the login screen, or even need to do a reboot? Some more details on what exactly is happening and what you can't/can do will help in narrowing this down.
User avatar
xenopeek
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 14502
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 3:58 am
Location: The Netherlands


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot], heydave and 38 guests