Keyboard shortcut

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Keyboard shortcut

Postby isebarn on Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:10 am

I want to make a keyboard shortcut, fx Fn+Ctrl+z that would bring up Matlab so I can directly type into Matlab (Matlab already running ofcourse)

So if I wanted to calculate 2+2, I would press Fz+ctrl+z 2+2 enter
isebarn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:07 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Keyboard shortcut

Postby semicolon on Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:55 am

You can probably focus the matlab window with the following command:
Code: Select all
wmctrl -a Matlab

At least that works for me with firefox. To bind it to a keyboard shortcut, go to menu -> keyboard -> shortcut. Then add a shortcut for the above command. Tell me if it works.
semicolon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:26 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Keyboard shortcut

Postby isebarn on Wed Apr 24, 2013 6:31 am

semicolon wrote:You can probably focus the matlab window with the following command:
Code: Select all
wmctrl -a Matlab

At least that works for me with firefox. To bind it to a keyboard shortcut, go to menu -> keyboard -> shortcut. Then add a shortcut for the above command. Tell me if it works.


It worked in the terminal
However for some reason I cant make the keyboard shortcut, not for anything, so as soon as I fugure out how to make shortcuts Im sure it'll work

no idea why I cant create keyboard shortcuts

thanks for your help
isebarn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:07 am

Re: Keyboard shortcut

Postby isebarn on Wed Apr 24, 2013 7:24 am

I got it to work :)

instead of using gconf-editor I found that in Mint I have Menu- preferences - keyboard shortcuts
isebarn
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 5:07 am

Re: Keyboard shortcut

Postby semicolon on Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:23 am

That's what I actually meant, don't know about the menu differences between all mint DE's, can be quite confusing at times. Glad you got it working.
semicolon
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2013 7:26 am
Location: Netherlands


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mik3e and 19 guests