A different player for Streamtuner

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

A different player for Streamtuner

Postby bobpur on Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:06 pm

I like listening to streaming audio on my computer from time to time as I work. I use Streamtuner/ripper.
Lately, in the 8.04 versions of Ubuntu and derivatives, I've noticed that XMMS has been missing from Synaptic pkg. man. This is the default player for Streamtuner/ripper.
I found a post from Arnieboy in the Ubuntu forums on how to change the player. In Streamtuner/ripper > Edit > Preferences > Applications Tab. Change the instances of "xmms %q" to your player of choice. Don't forget to add the "%q" on the end after the name of your chosen player. It works! At least, it did the first time a couple of weeks ago on Ubuntu v8.04. It hasn't worked in that machine the two times I've reinstalled Ubuntu v8.04 and it hasn't worked in this laptop that I use more than any other machine I own. I just ousted "Daryna" for "Elyssa" on it.
I don't know if I'm missing a step or what. When I attempt to change players according to the above instructions; I get an error message: "Unable to tune in. Failed to execute child process "Amarok"(No such file or directory).This message with "Amarok" is the last of many with different player names.
The original post from Arnieboy doesn't say anything different than what I've put down here.
Beer is about gone and hair is all but gone, it's time to ask for help. Anybody got any thoughts on what I'm overlooking here?
Appreciate the help. Thanks.
bobpur
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2006 5:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: A different player for Streamtuner

Postby Husse on Wed Jun 18, 2008 6:55 am

We skipped Amarok
There is a list of players you say - are the others KDE as well?
That's the only thing that comes to mind imediately
Image
Don't fix it if it ain't broken, don't break it if you can't fix it
Husse
Level 21
Level 21
 
Posts: 19710
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 7:22 am
Location: Near Borås Sweden

Re: A different player for Streamtuner

Postby Lantesh on Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:21 pm

You can use totem. That's what I have Streamtuner set to use in Elyssa, and it works great. I don't use totem for video or anything else, but it serves the purpose of radio streaming just fine. I also found using or not using %q made no difference.
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: expat_tony, Google Adsense [Bot], Google Feedfetcher and 25 guests