[Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel!

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

[Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel!

Postby .nox on Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:20 pm

Hi,

I can't seem to add mintMenu back to the panel. Whenever I try and click "Add" I get the following error "The panel encountered a problem while loading "OAFIID:GNOME_mintMenu"."


Image





I've googled around and tried to follow some suggestions of reinstalling gnome-applets along with gnome-applets-data but it didn't work. I'm really confused and I don't know how to fix it. Help me please !


Regards

EDIT :

A bit of background :

I got this error for the first time after a reboot. The only thing I changed in the configuration was to remove packages related to Totem and Rythmbox as I don't use them. I'm afraid I might've deleted some important packages...although I don't see the link with mintMenu and those apps.
Last edited by .nox on Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:51 pm, edited 2 times in total.
.nox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:25 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel !

Postby Lantesh on Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:39 pm

You could try going into Synaptic Package Manager and reinstalling the mintmenu package. Just run a search for it, and it will show up in the right pane. Now click on the little check box to the left of the actual word mintmenu and a small dialogue box will appear with options. Choose reinstallation and then apply. Hopefully that fixes things for you.
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel !

Postby .nox on Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:48 pm

Lantesh wrote:You could try going into Synaptic Package Manager and reinstalling the mintmenu package. Just run a search for it, and it will show up in the right pane. Now click on the little check box to the left of the actual word mintmenu and a small dialogue box will appear with options. Choose reinstallation and then apply. Hopefully that fixes things for you.


Unfortunately that didn't work. I still get the same error message when I try to add it to the panel. I also tried creating another panel and adding mintMenu but that didn't work either. :(
.nox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:25 pm

Re: Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel !

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:12 pm

Completely remove it using Synaptic, then install it again. I guess it is something wrong with one of the configuration files or something.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel !

Postby .nox on Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:35 pm

MagnusB wrote:Completely remove it using Synaptic, then install it again. I guess it is something wrong with one of the configuration files or something.



Thakns but that didn't work...
.nox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:25 pm

Re: Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel !

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:50 pm

Open a terminal and type:
- sudo aptitude remove mintmenu
- sudo rm -rf /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu
- gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/mintMenu
- Reinstall mintMenu: sudo aptitude install mintmenu
- Add mintMenu to your panel again
Note that this will remove all mintMenu settings, so if you have customized it (except from adding new menu entries) it will be gone.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel !

Postby .nox on Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:44 pm

MagnusB wrote:Open a terminal and type:
- sudo aptitude remove mintmenu
- sudo rm -rf /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu
- gconftool-2 --recursive-unset /apps/mintMenu
- Reinstall mintMenu: sudo aptitude install mintmenu
- Add mintMenu to your panel again
Note that this will remove all mintMenu settings, so if you have customized it (except from adding new menu entries) it will be gone.



I appreciate your help, really. I tried the steps you mentionned and I even rebooted before reinstalling the menu and still it will not work.



EDIT :

I managed to find the cause and fix it. The python module "gnomeapplet" was missing. I found this out by trying to execute

Code: Select all
cd /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/
./mintMenu.py


So I tried to find what package that module resided in. Turns out I was missing the python-gnome2-* packages wich I installed via Synaptic.


Tried running the mintMenu.py again and bingo...

Finally ! Thanks for your help everyone
.nox
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 9:25 pm

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel!

Postby rldev on Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:13 am

This has happened to me 3 times now. It is a bit concerning. Thanks for the fix.
rldev
Level 2
Level 2
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:13 am

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel!

Postby brainbuz on Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:43 am

I had this problem and checked my apt-logs. uninstalling fortune also triggered removal of mintmenu.
I reinstalled mintmenu and got things fixed.
Even if you uninstall fortune you get an error every time you launch a terminal, so you have to disable fortune by removing the line from /etc/bash.bashrc that invokes fortune.
brainbuz
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:38 am

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel!

Postby BShearer on Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:17 am

I have the same problem, I followed your solution and came up with this

Code: Select all
shearer@mint ~ $ cd /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/
shearer@mint /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu $ ./mintMenu.py
No module named gtk
shearer@mint /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu $


Any Ideas to the GTK module?
BShearer
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 09, 2009 7:15 am

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the panel!

Postby joe2 on Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:17 am

I managed to find the cause and fix it. The python module "gnomeapplet" was missing. I found this out by trying to execute

CODE: SELECT ALL
cd /usr/lib/linuxmint/mintMenu/
./mintMenu.py


So I tried to find what package that module resided in. Turns out I was missing the python-gnome2-* packages wich I installed via Synaptic.


Tried running the mintMenu.py again and bingo...

Finally ! Thanks for your help everyone


That helped me, I searched in synaptic and fount the package in python-gnomeapplet. Reinstalled it and then tried again... walla!
Thank you1
joe2
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:14 am

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the pa

Postby onionparadise on Tue Oct 12, 2010 12:06 pm

Hi, I'm having the same problem as BShearer. I think the catalyst was that I tried to install Python 2.7, which is available for Ubuntu, but apparently not for Mint, since I had to get it from the Ubuntu package repository. I tried uninstalling Python 2.7 and reinstalling 2.6, but no go. Any ideas?
onionparadise
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:38 pm

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the pa

Postby croquet on Sun Nov 14, 2010 5:35 pm

onionparadise and BShearer I'm in the same situation as you.

I uninstalled python2.6 and installed python 2.7 manually, by downloading the .deb file from Python's website.
This simply killed whole Linux Mint, because:

Whatever you do, do not uninstall 2.6. Your entire system runs on that and as you saw it will uninstall much of your system (Source)

Reinstalled Linux Mint again and this time I installed python 2.7 (I need it!) using altinstall but still I came up with the no mintMenu + OAFIID:GNOME_mintMenu issue and can't get it back.

The console also prompts with No module named gtk, so there is some kind of incompatibility with python 2.7, moreover, python 2.7 wasn't be pushed out through the Update Manager or added to the repos until Maverick (Source)

Browsing through the net people provide different solutions:
    1.sudo synaptic install python-gnome2-desktop. Source
    2. papibe says that several versions can coexist together. You just need to point to the one you want to use following these steps
    3. Creating a symbolic link between /usr/bin/pyhon2.6 and /usr/bin/python is also mentioned here.
    4. Install Python-gnomeapplet (Source, posts 83 and 84 from Joe)


Maybe they work for you, they haven't for me, surely because I am doing something wrong because if I type python on the console it says I have version 2.7 :shock:
onionparadise, please, how did you uninstall python 2.7?

Thanks very much in advance.
croquet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the pa

Postby croquet on Wed Nov 17, 2010 3:49 pm

I fixed the issue without having to uninstall Python2.7

The problem was that Python2.6 (default system one) was installed in /usr/bin/ and despite the symbolic links were properly pointing to it, the python bash command was not.
Python2.7 was installed at /usr/local/bin and the bash command python was pointing to this one.

Checking the path I found this:

Code: Select all
caterina@Pies ~ $ echo $PATH
/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/games


As you can see, first it looks in /usr/local/bin (where Python2.7 is installed) and then it looks in /usr/bin (where Python2.6 is installed)
So the solution was to do the following:

Code: Select all
mv /usr/local/bin/python /usr/local/python27link


Now, If I type python in a terminal it launches Python2.6 whereas if I type python27link it launches Python2.7
Of course, after fixing this mess I could get mintMenu back yuju!!

Maybe there's a more elegant way to solve this, but since none of the suggestions given worked for me, this was the best I could come up with.
Hope it does too for someone stuck in the same situation as I was.
croquet
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 3:07 pm

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the pa

Postby sijtom0703 on Wed Jan 19, 2011 5:40 am

Hi,

I have similar problem as croquet. I had to install python 2.7.1 for installing pyaxelws download accelerator and after that mintMenu stopped working.
When i try to add i get the below error
The panel encountered a problem while loading "OAFIID:GNOME_mintMenu".

I have python 2.6 installed in /usr/bin

ls -latr python*
python2.6
python -> python2.6

and 2.7 in /usr/local/bin
ls -latr python*

python2.7
python
python2.7-config

When i type python i am getting 2.7.1 version. How to fix this issue and restore mintMenu in panel :( without reinstalling mint
sijtom0703
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 3:14 pm

Re: [Solved] Lost mintMenu and I can't add it back to the pa

Postby MSXManiac on Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:49 pm

with me i resolve reading content in this link

http://axezn.tk/2011/08/14/debian-wheez ... -mintmenu/
User avatar
MSXManiac
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 6:44 pm
Location: Porto Alegre - RS - Brasil

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Aron, EdBet869, Google Adsense [Bot], Sahal and 31 guests