Badly out of my depth ...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:42 pm

Hello

I've managed to scramble my graphics setup, and lock myself out of recovery mode: can anybody please help? A few details:

My installation is Daryna Light version, but with most of the non free codecs etc added. The machine is an Acer Travelmate 230XC laptop with mobile Celeron processor; graphics chipset type 845G. I've been running without any trouble in VESA graphics mode, but this isn't sufficient for decent DVD replay, so I tried switching to the Intel driver by way of the utility in the Control Centre menu: I haven't touched xorg.conf (didn't dare). Result: in the case of a normal boot, everything as normal up to the login screen, which is garbled and sort of repeats four times across the display: it's not locking me out, I don't think, as the cursor(s)! are still blinking, but the output is not legible enough to use. Attempting to boot in recovery mode just brings me eventually to a root command line prompt, which I think is probably a hopeful sign, although I have no idea what to enter, and when you're in a hole ... Any help would be greatly appreciated; I'm now stuck with using M$XP to send this, and it's grating badly. I'd be happy just to go back to VESA frankly.

Cheers, Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:14 pm

I am not sure, but that card might be supported by the i810 driver. Try that first, looks like it isn't fully supported by the intel driver.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:34 pm

Thanks for the reply. I was googling around for information before my abortive attempt at upgrading, and it appeared that the Intel driver was the safer option, despite the i810 being tailored to the 845G chipset. I'd certainly like to try latter, except that I'm effectively locked out of my system by that command line prompt; although, as I said before, VESA would do just fine for now.

A bit of background: I was reluctant to mess with the video driver - I had a feeling that it'd cause problems, because I had trouble with the live DVD, which would only boot in safe graphics mode. As I said, DVD playback is an unresolved issue: in fact if I could get it working to my satisfaction I'd dump Windows entirely and good riddance, and probably do a clean reinstall or replace Daryna with Elyssa. That's still an option, as I set up a separate ~ partition, so there's nothing much to lose if nothing else works. It all comes down to DVD though - we're not a TV owning household, so I have to be sure it'll work.

Regards, Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:44 pm

The intel driver is experimental, but it works just perfect on my card, 9 something. As for reverting to vesa, pretty easy, just follow these steps:
1. Boot into recovery mode, as it boots into root right away it makes it easier.
2. Type: nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf which should allow you to edit xorg.conf
3. Use Ctrl+W to search, or browse down to Driver "intel", change "intel" to "vesa". (alternately "i810")
4. Press Ctrl+X, Y then Enter
5. Type in: reboot -t now
Should have reverted to vesa now :=)
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:58 pm

Oh, excellent! Thanks for such specific advice, and quickly too. I'll log out of M$ and do as you say, then let you know what happens, hopefully from Mint.

Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:40 pm

Back in windows, I'm afraid. Xorg.conf looks a mess, frankly: I'm typing this longhand, so I'm only giving the bits which look relevant:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Boardname "VESA driver (generic)
Busid "PCI:0:2:0"
Driver "vesa"
Screen 0
Endsection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Vendor "Generic CRT Display"
Modelname "Monitor 1024x768"
Horiz Sync 31.5-61
Vertrefresh 50-75
Modeline <14 different display resolutions / refresh rates etc given here>
Gamma 1.0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Generic Video Card"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
Defaultdepth 24
Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1280 960
Mode "1024x768@70" "832x624@75" $
Endsubsection


This doesn't look good to me. Appears my laptop now thinks it has a CRT monitor. Just a guess really, but I suppose it should be using "Identified Monitor" or something of that sort...? Good news though: it is using a vesa driver; bad news: I have no idea why. Puzzled.

Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:42 pm

Looks like it is failsafe X, conservative X.org settings. Try using a live session to edit xorg.conf. My mistake, I thought Recovery mode booted into a shell and not a failsafe X session.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:13 pm

Okay, back in Linux now, running on live CD, even so, faster than M$!. Don't know what to do with xorg.conf, although I do know I'll be backing it up in future. The relevant bits are as follows, pasted in this time:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Boardname "VESA driver (generic)"
Busid "PCI:0:2:0"
Driver "vesa"
Screen 0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Vendorname "Generic CRT Display"
Modelname "Monitor 1024x768"
Horizsync 31.5-61.0
Vertrefresh 50-75
modeline "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@72" 31.5 640 664 704 832 480 489 491 520 -vsync -hsync
modeline "640x480@75" 31.5 640 656 720 840 480 481 484 500 -vsync -hsync
modeline "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@72" 50.0 800 856 976 1040 600 637 643 666 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@75" 49.5 800 816 896 1056 600 601 604 625 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
modeline "832x624@75" 57.284 832 864 928 1152 624 625 628 667 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@75" 78.8 1024 1040 1136 1312 768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1024x768@70" 75.0 1024 1048 1184 1328 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
modeline "1280x960@60" 102.1 1280 1360 1496 1712 960 961 964 994 -hsync +vsync
Gamma 1.0
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Generic Video Card"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
Defaultdepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1280 960
Modes "1024x768@75" "1024x768@70" "832x624@75" "1024x768@60" "800x600@60" "1280x960@60" "800x600@75" "800x600@72" "800x600@56" "640x480@75" "640x480@72" "640x480@60"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
screen 0 "Default Screen" 0 0
Inputdevice "Generic Keyboard"
Inputdevice "Configured Mouse"

# Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
# InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
Inputdevice "Synaptics Touchpad"
EndSection
Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "GLcore"
Load "v4l"
EndSection
Section "device" #
Identifier "device1"
Boardname "VESA driver (generic)"
Busid "PCI:0:2:0"
Driver "vesa"
Screen 1
EndSection
Section "screen" #
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Defaultdepth 24
Monitor "monitor1"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768@60" "800x600@60" "800x600@56" "640x480@60"
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section "monitor" #
Identifier "monitor1"
Vendorname "Generic LCD Display"
Modelname "LCD Panel 1024x768"
Horizsync 31.5-48.0
Vertrefresh 56.0 - 65.0
modeline "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
modeline "800x600@56" 36.0 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync
modeline "800x600@60" 40.0 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync
modeline "1024x768@60" 65.0 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -vsync -hsync
Gamma 1.0
EndSection
Section "ServerFlags"
EndSection

Clearly, there's a lot to get rid of, and some bits to change, so I'm afraid I need some serious guidance.

Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:38 pm

Is that the live one?
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Sun Jun 22, 2008 5:45 pm

No, that's from /etc/X11 off the HD.
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:25 pm

Thanks to everyone who has watched this thread, and particularly MagnusB for his help, but it is now way past my bedtime, and there's no point in losing sleep over a computer. I'll be back tomorrow, but in the meantime all help is very gratefully received.

Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby jrd on Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:45 pm

Well, if the live cd works like it should, you should just be able to copy that xorg.conf file to your hard drive. If that doesn't work for some reason then boot up normally and when it gets to the log in screen press ctrl+alt+f1 and that should pull up the CLI, Log in and type sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg. Then reboot.

Hope this helps.
jrd
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:36 pm

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:30 pm

That xorg.conf looks like it should be working. Try booting normally, open Screen Resolution (Windows+Space, type Screen Resolution till you get a hit) and press detect screen. After that, set the correct resolution and then try to reboot.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Mon Jun 23, 2008 6:01 am

Nothing doing, I'm afraid. I tried the dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg method first, checking only the 1024x768 option; rebooting normally eventually brings up a CLI prompt briefly, say two seconds, then goes to a blank screen which doesn't respond. Windows + space doesn't do anything. In recovery mode, the system tells me that xserver.conf is not installed. And with the live CD, I can't find the xorg.conf file, because the system cannot mount the CDROM drive, telling me that there probably is no disc in the drive (this sort of makes sense). However, the HDD xorg.conf has changed, and is closer to its original state as I remember it, presumably as a result of the dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg process. It now reads as follows:

Section "Device"
Identifier "Generic Video Card"
Driver "vesa"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 30-70
VertRefresh 50-160
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Generic Video Card"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"

# Uncomment if you have a wacom tablet
# InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
# InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad"
EndSection

All comments welcomed.

Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:22 am

Strange. Try as the previous poster said, get a working xorg.conf from a live session over to the hard drive. First mount your root partition (probably to /media/disk or something), then run:
Code: Select all
sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /media/disk/etc/X11/xorg.conf

That *should* give you a working xorg.conf, if it doesn't work then it could be something wrong with X.org.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:31 am

Again nothing doing. The HDD partitions are mounted, the CDROM cannot be mounted. Terminal gives me the following for the cp command:

mint@mint:~$ sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /media/disk/etc/X11/xorg.conf
cp: cannot create regular file `/media/disk/etc/X11/xorg.conf': No such file or directory

I'd be inclined to try this command the other way around, ie:

sudo cp /media/disk/etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf

but I'm chicken, and decided to check first.

Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:33 am

Are you sure the partition is mounted? And it is cp "file to copy" "file to copy too".
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Mon Jun 23, 2008 11:50 am

<Are you sure the partition is mounted? And it is cp "file to copy" "file to copy too".>

You're right of course. That seemed to copy, so now I'll reboot as normal and see what happens.
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby Andy T on Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:03 pm

I'm overflowing with relief and gratitude: everything back to normal and working. I'm sticking with VESA for now, and backing up xorg.conf. I may go back to the DVD replay thing sometime, but I've far too much egg on my face for that right now. Heartfelt thanks to everyone who took an interest.

Andy
Andy T
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 am

Re: Badly out of my depth ...

Postby MagnusB on Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:55 pm

No problems, good to see you got it working again :)
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andrewgouw, Google Adsense [Bot], WharfRat and 40 guests