Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa [Solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa [Solved]

Postby dnmint on Sat Jun 28, 2008 8:35 pm

I have a Compaq Pressario Desktop Intel Core 2 Duo processor, 1 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD in 3 partitions ( C 40 Win XP, D 40 empty, E balance 80 with saved Files & Folders.
I intend installing Mint in D the empty drive.
Is it ok , adequate? Do I have to increase RAM ?
Please advice
Last edited by dnmint on Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby foggytown on Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:03 pm

Hi,
That is plenty of RAM for anything usual.

Mint should be noticably faster on that hardware than XP.

The only way to be sure that your hardware is supported would be to boot off the CD and see if everything works.

--john
Facts do not cease to exist because they are ignored.
--Aldous Huxley
User avatar
foggytown
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2007 4:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA usa

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:28 pm

Go for it! I have run Mint - few versions of it - with less stuff than your system offers. 512 ram and celeron and also Pent 3 chips and no issues. i curently have alaptop with core duo and 1 gig. Mint is a very nice distro - Load it and nejoy!
Linux Mint - Pure Bliss!
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby Lantesh on Mon Jun 30, 2008 9:52 pm

You have more than enough. I only have 512 megs of ram and a single core Athlon XP 3200 and my system runs decent.
Lantesh
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1219
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 1:02 pm

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby dnmint on Tue Jul 01, 2008 9:07 pm

Thanks. I intend to plunge in cetainly & weather it, if necessary.
Any ideas on installing Mint in drive D when XP is in C drive. Will this work as dual boot?
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby GrayWizardLinux on Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:28 am

yes it will but I do not dual boot - I use linux exclusively on this laptop. So I cannot help, sorry.
Linux Mint - Pure Bliss!
User avatar
GrayWizardLinux
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1240
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Anywhere I Am!

Re: Is my Dell Laptop adequate for Elyssa

Postby dnmint on Wed Jul 02, 2008 3:47 pm

I have also a Dell D420 Latitude laptop machine.
Can I convert it to a LinuxMint alone machine.
Will all Dell & other drivers required by D420 be available?
I am worried about Wireless card Dell 1390 wlan based on Broadcam &
Audio based on Sigma tel audio.
Advice please :?:
Last edited by dnmint on Thu Jul 03, 2008 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby akaNed on Wed Jul 02, 2008 6:50 pm

dnmint wrote:Thanks. I intend to plunge in cetainly & weather it, if necessary.
Any ideas on installing Mint in drive D when XP is in C drive. Will this work as dual boot?

Yes you should be able to dual-boot no problem. You will need to choose 'manual partitioning' during the install. Then you will need to create a swap partition - 2GB should be enough- out of the 'D' partition, then format the remainder of 'D' as 'ext3' filesystem. Mint will configure GRUB accordingly so you can boot either Windows or Mint.

Of course, I would make a backup of your Windows partition and any important files before proceeding.

Hope it all goes well. I also dual-boot as I use Windows for work.
User avatar
akaNed
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2007 10:27 pm
Location: Landrum, SC

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby dnmint on Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:26 pm

I have loaded Linux mint in my desk top. Everything is working well.
There are 2 issues though :
    1. During login screen & password screen, whsat I type is coming too lasrge - out of focus size . How to make the 'normal font'
    2. During mint update an error message comes as follows:
    E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
    E: _cache->open() failed, please report.
Kindly advise what I should do
Thanks
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa

Postby dnmint on Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:29 pm

Also I used 'Use largest available Free space' option during Installation in stead of Manual as I was not confident. I do not know whether it created a swap partition along with others. How can I check?
Thanks
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Re: Is my Desktop adequate for Elyssa pls help

Postby dnmint on Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:05 pm

My post is waiting :cry:
ImageDNMint
User avatar
dnmint
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 393
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:00 pm
Location: Hyderabad, India ( mostly travelling)

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests