Problem running LM on VMware workstation

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Problem running LM on VMware workstation

Postby Staffel on Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:23 pm

Hi,

I am a Linux n00b. I managed to get LinuxMint running under VMWare Workstation. However from time to time LM just stops responding and I have to reboot. Now through the System Log I noticed a number of error messages that seem to appear each time LM crashes. They look like
Code: Select all
[user] tpvmlpd2[number]: device type not supported


So I was thinking that this might be causing my problem.

Googling this lead me to this page: http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/micros ... Id=2001254

There is no '2' behind the 'tpvmlpd' but i figured trying that solution was worth a shot.

However entering
Code: Select all
cp /etc/init.d/vmware-tools /etc/init.d/vmware-tools.backup
results in:
Code: Select all
cp: cannot stat ‘/etc/init.d/vmware-tools’: No such file or directory


I am sure there is a good reason for that but I am at a loss. I'm not familiar enough with linux yet to be able to find my vmware-tools directory. (I'm assuming that it's somewhere else or has a different name).

Can anyone help out?

Thanks!
Staffel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:12 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Problem running LM on VMware workstation

Postby Staffel on Fri Sep 06, 2013 4:52 pm

Anyone? :?
Staffel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:12 pm

Re: Problem running LM on VMware workstation

Postby Staffel on Mon Sep 09, 2013 3:57 pm

Ok, so apparently this is not a simple lack of newbie knowledge.

Let me try it another way. Is there some sort of functionality that I can use as a search to try and find the path to my vmware-tools directory?
Staffel
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:12 pm


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jangolf36, jollyjack, Mute Ant and 49 guests