Localepurge configure screen

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Localepurge configure screen

Postby Cai1987 on Sat Jul 05, 2008 3:03 pm

I'm not exactly a total newbie anymore, but this is a newbie question.

I'm configuring localepurge in the terminal. It takes me to this screen:
Image

Everything all fine and dandy, this is what it's supposed to do.

Here's the noob question: how do I select the languages I want? I can scroll through the options no problem. As soon as I hit ENTER though, it takes me out of the configure screen and tells me I haven't selected any locales.

I tried using gedit to change the locale.nopurge configuration file directly, but it won't let me save.
Cai1987
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:46 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Localepurge configure screen

Postby 67GTA on Sat Jul 05, 2008 3:24 pm

You have to use the space bar to select/deselect.
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." Edmund Burke
User avatar
67GTA
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1301
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: Kentucky, USA

Re: Localepurge configure screen

Postby Cai1987 on Sat Jul 05, 2008 3:27 pm

Space bar! Figures, I tried just about everything else.

I suppose we all have to have stupid moments occasionally, right? :P
Cai1987
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 2:46 pm

Re: Localepurge configure screen

Postby erginemr on Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:33 am

Useless as it may seem to have all language files (some 30-35 MB to my knowledge) in your system, I suggest you to stay away from "localepurge" as some applications may need to have those files existing even if they don't use them.

I remember to have used this tool back in Edgy Eft to purge unused language files, to find myself later on unable to run some 3rd party programs. The reaseon was that, some programs look for the existence of these and simply refuse to run when they are unable to find them.
erginemr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:37 am
Location: Istanbul / Turkey


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 35 guests