windows home network

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

windows home network

Postby ti479 on Sun Jul 06, 2008 1:11 am

hi,

can anyone tell me the default password that mint is asking me for when i try to connect to my windows network? when i setup the windows home network i didnt install a password so i am not sure what mint is asking for. i can see my network in mint but i cannot connect to it, is there something else i need to do? can i add a new network or set up a new one in mint (samaba)?



any help is appreciated

scott
ti479
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:50 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: windows home network

Postby unreal223 on Sun Jul 06, 2008 1:45 am

I just press cancel and it opens up my shared folder.
Not sure if its like that for everyone but I dont have a password on my network either(just on router)
unreal223
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:04 pm

Re: windows home network

Postby erginemr on Sun Jul 06, 2008 6:09 am

I cannot help much as samba is no more meaningful than a Brazilian dance to me, bu the following articles discuss adding a uses password when connecting to a Windows machine:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=76647
http://www.simplehelp.net/2007/05/19/ho ... in-ubuntu/
erginemr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:37 am
Location: Istanbul / Turkey

Re: windows home network

Postby miket on Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:09 am

Hi !

ti479 wrote:hi,
can anyone tell me the default password that mint is asking me for when i try to connect to my windows network? when i setup the windows home network i didnt install a password so i am not sure what mint is asking for. i can see my network in mint but i cannot connect to it, is there something else i need to do? can i add a new network or set up a new one in mint (samaba)?

any help is appreciated
scott


A little search of the Mint forum would reveal this post all about using Samba under Mint :)

MIke.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: windows home network

Postby ti479 on Sun Jul 06, 2008 7:56 pm

ok so let me get this straight, i need to install samba and access my files on my windows machine with it, vs trying to connect using the Network GUI already installed into mint? is this correct?
ti479
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:50 pm

Re: windows home network

Postby miket on Mon Jul 07, 2008 2:31 pm

Hi !

ti479 wrote:ok so let me get this straight, i need to install samba and access my files on my windows machine with it, vs trying to connect using the Network GUI already installed into mint? is this correct?


No not correct .... To connect to your windows shares the best thing to do is install smb4k on your Linux machine, open a terminal and enter the following command :

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install smb4k


This is probably the best tool for connecting to windows networks from a Linux desktop.

The other way is to make the windows machines come to your Linux machine by installing and configuring Samba so that your windows
machines just see your Linux machine as if it were just another windows machine on the network.
To do this see this post here.

Hope this helps.

Mike.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: windows home network

Postby ti479 on Mon Jul 07, 2008 6:50 pm

still asking for non-existent password when i try to access C:\ drive or D:\ drive .
ti479
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:50 pm

Re: windows home network

Postby Linux n00b on Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:42 am

AvanceIT wrote:To connect to your windows shares the best thing to do is install smb4k on your Linux machine, open a terminal and enter the following command :

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install smb4k


This is probably the best tool for connecting to windows networks from a Linux desktop.


does it matter since Mint 5 doesn't use KDE?
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits.
-- Albert Einstein
User avatar
Linux n00b
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2008 9:55 am

Re: windows home network

Postby ti479 on Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:43 am

i found something of a simple solution for this problem. since mint will see the windows network and will let me access the shared documents folder with no problems, i simply copied all the files that i might want to access to the folder and had no problems reading or writing to them.

thanks

scott
ti479
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:50 pm

Re: windows home network

Postby Katzedecimal on Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:20 pm

Linux n00b wrote:
AvanceIT wrote:To connect to your windows shares the best thing to do is install smb4k on your Linux machine, open a terminal and enter the following command :

Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install smb4k


This is probably the best tool for connecting to windows networks from a Linux desktop.


does it matter since Mint 5 doesn't use KDE?


I was wondering that myself.
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge
User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North

Re: windows home network

Postby MagnusB on Tue Jul 08, 2008 12:36 pm

I am not sure about this specific package, but usually it doesn't matter, you just have to install some KDE libraries. But if it uses konqueror you might as well just install KDE..
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: windows home network

Postby miket on Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:12 pm

Linux n00b wrote:does it matter since Mint 5 doesn't use KDE?


No not at all ... it will work just fine !
All the necessary dependencies will be downloaded and installed automagically ;)

Mike.
Last edited by miket on Wed Jul 09, 2008 2:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: windows home network

Postby miket on Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:16 pm

Hi !

ti479 wrote:still asking for non-existent password when i try to access C:\ drive or D:\ drive .


This is with smb4k ?
If so ... I guess you must have a password set somewhere ?

Mike.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: windows home network

Postby Katzedecimal on Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:44 pm

Thank you, Mike! I now have access to our home LAN and am sleeping on the couch tonight! :mrgreen:
"Dance without sleeping, I'll dance without fear
Dance without senses, no message I hear
Dance without feeling, I'll dance 'til I'm numb
Dance 'til I think I can overcome" -- Melissa Etheridge
User avatar
Katzedecimal
Level 4
Level 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:20 pm
Location: The Great White North

Re: windows home network

Postby ti479 on Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:53 pm

no no password set anywhere that i know of.
ti479
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 7:50 pm

Re: windows home network

Postby miket on Wed Jul 09, 2008 2:58 am

Hi !

Katzedecimal wrote:Thank you, Mike! I now have access to our home LAN and am sleeping on the couch tonight! :mrgreen:


You're welcome ... I hope the couch is a comfy one :)

Mike.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Re: windows home network

Postby miket on Wed Jul 09, 2008 3:01 am

Hi !

ti479 wrote:no no password set anywhere that i know of.


I suggest you set a password for the two drives and then try logging in again ...
It is strange that it won't allow you to mount the drives without a password and yet you know not of any password for the shared drives ???

If you can mount the drives with a password then at least you will know all is working as it should be ;)

Mike.
User avatar
miket
Level 5
Level 5
 
Posts: 524
Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 5:50 am
Location: UK & France

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: riwakawebsitedesigns and 19 guests