Low sound

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Low sound

Postby nickembleton on Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:13 am

Hi there, when im playing files with audio the audio is low i've set all volume controls to the maximum but the sound is still low i have a realtek audio chipset,
Help appreciated,
Thanks,
Nick.
nickembleton
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:51 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Low sound

Postby pkerwien on Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:15 am

Which application are you using and which kind of media are you playing?
Last edited by pkerwien on Thu Jul 10, 2008 9:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
If Windows is the answer, you don't understand the question!
User avatar
pkerwien
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:49 am

Re: Low sound

Postby erginemr on Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:31 am

Also, can you please post the outcome of the following terminal commands:
Code: Select all
lspci | grep -i audio
aplay -l
cat /proc/asound/cards

And what is the model/brand of your laptop/PC?
erginemr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:37 am
Location: Istanbul / Turkey

Re: Low sound

Postby nickembleton on Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:05 pm

HI there my base unit is a dell inspiron 531 desktop the following was what i got when typing in that command
Code: Select all
yottabit@yottabit-desktop ~ $ lspci | grep -i audio
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
yottabit@yottabit-desktop ~ $ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: NVidia [HDA NVidia], device 0: ALC883 Analog [ALC883 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
yottabit@yottabit-desktop ~ $ cat /proc/asound/cards

Thanks,
Nick.
nickembleton
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:51 am

Re: Low sound

Postby erginemr on Wed Jul 09, 2008 4:40 am

I cannot guarantee success, but here is something you can try:
Following this link: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=616845

You can edit the file "/etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base" with:
Code: Select all
Alt+F2 >> gksu gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base

and add the following line to the end of the file:
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=......

where you should fill in the blank with an appropriate sound chip model name.

Probable candidates are:
Code: Select all
ALC883/888
3stack-dig 3-jack with SPDIF I/O
6stack-dig 6-jack digital with SPDIF I/O
3stack-6ch 3-jack 6-channel
3stack-6ch-dig 3-jack 6-channel with SPDIF I/O
6stack-dig-demo 6-jack digital for Intel demo board
acer Acer laptops (Travelmate 3012WTMi, Aspire 5600, etc)
acer-aspire Acer Aspire 9810
medion Medion Laptops
medion-md2 Medion MD2
targa-dig Targa/MSI
targa-2ch-dig Targs/MSI with 2-channel
laptop-eapd 3-jack with SPDIF I/O and EAPD (Clevo M540JE, M550JE)
lenovo-101e Lenovo 101E
lenovo-nb0763 Lenovo NB0763
lenovo-ms7195-dig Lenovo MS7195
haier-w66 Haier W66
6stack-hp HP machines with 6stack (Nettle boards)
3stack-hp HP machines with 3stack (Lucknow, Samba boards)
auto auto-config reading BIOS (default)

but the ones used most are: "auto, 3stack & 3stack-dig". It also depends on how many jacks the card has, I guess.

And on the same page, there are references to "dell" elsewhere, so you should include "dell-3stack" in the try-and-error list as well.

So, the lines you should try one by one are:
Code: Select all
options snd-hda-intel model=auto
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack
options snd-hda-intel model=dell-3stack
options snd-hda-intel model=3stack-dig

And you should restart your computer each time you change the model name. If you happen to lose the sound, all you need to do is to remove that line altogether and restart.

I hope it will solve with the sound level problem. Good luck!
erginemr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:37 am
Location: Istanbul / Turkey

Re: Low sound

Postby nickembleton on Wed Jul 09, 2008 8:53 am

Thanks for info i tried the above and the sound seems to be ok when playing radio widgets but the sound on avi files seems to be low?
Any ideas,
Thanks,
Nick.
nickembleton
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:51 am

Re: Low sound

Postby erginemr on Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:29 am

So, can I assume that doing such an arrangement makes a differnce in the maximum volume level? Also the term "radio widget" confuses me, as I have no idea about what it refers to... :roll:

Regarding the sound in avi files, maybe you should check "alsamixer" from the terminal and make sure that both "master" and "pcm" levels are at maximum.
erginemr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:37 am
Location: Istanbul / Turkey

Re: Low sound

Postby nickembleton on Wed Jul 09, 2008 9:59 am

Thankyou i turned everything up in alsamixer and sounds working good now, by radio widget i ment a widget for screenlets that seemed to play loud enough,
Thanks,
Nick.
nickembleton
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:51 am

Re: Low sound

Postby erginemr on Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:46 am

Great news! :D

Take Care Nick.

Emrah
erginemr
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 47
Joined: Sun Jul 06, 2008 4:37 am
Location: Istanbul / Turkey

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: annie, Google Adsense [Bot], niowluka, PatH57, voidhead and 23 guests