**SOLVED** Why is my shutdown suddenly verbose?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help

**SOLVED** Why is my shutdown suddenly verbose?

Postby rlindsey0 on Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:33 pm

I know this must be my fault somehow. I did a few things--installed the ubuntustudio theme, played around with some of the options in startupmanager--but I messed up a couple of things and now desire to return to the default setup. Actually, I fixed most of what I needed to, but now I get text messages rolling down the screen at shutdown. Before, when I installed Elyssa, there were no such messages--it just went to the splash screen showing the bar, then went dark. I can see why sometimes you'd want to see those messages, but mostly I don't want or need to see them. Anybody know how I can stop them from showing up? (For extra credit, does anyone have any idea what mistake I made to cause this to happen? I'd like not to do it again ....)

Thanks!
Last edited by rlindsey0 on Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Olivia 15 Cinnamon 64, dual-boot Win 7 Pro 64 SP1, Clevo W150ER 15.6" laptop, i7 3630M, 16 GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB/HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, Nvidia GT 650M 1 GB, USB 3.0 HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, HP Photosmart C5280
rlindsey0
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Why is my shutdown suddenly verbose?

Postby rlindsey0 on Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:05 pm

OK, I found this Ubuntu thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... s+shutdown

I didn't try everything. First I tried cutting and re-pasting in the Login Window. That didn't seem to work. Then I tried removing the "-i" from the halt and reboot files (see post #37 in that thread--it just mentions the halt file but I did it in the reboot file as well). That seems to have worked! I just hope I haven't messed up anything else....
Olivia 15 Cinnamon 64, dual-boot Win 7 Pro 64 SP1, Clevo W150ER 15.6" laptop, i7 3630M, 16 GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB/HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, Nvidia GT 650M 1 GB, USB 3.0 HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, HP Photosmart C5280
rlindsey0
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:12 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], screaming-goat and 29 guests