**SOLVED** Why is my shutdown suddenly verbose?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

**SOLVED** Why is my shutdown suddenly verbose?

Postby rlindsey0 on Thu Jul 10, 2008 5:33 pm

I know this must be my fault somehow. I did a few things--installed the ubuntustudio theme, played around with some of the options in startupmanager--but I messed up a couple of things and now desire to return to the default setup. Actually, I fixed most of what I needed to, but now I get text messages rolling down the screen at shutdown. Before, when I installed Elyssa, there were no such messages--it just went to the splash screen showing the bar, then went dark. I can see why sometimes you'd want to see those messages, but mostly I don't want or need to see them. Anybody know how I can stop them from showing up? (For extra credit, does anyone have any idea what mistake I made to cause this to happen? I'd like not to do it again ....)

Thanks!
Last edited by rlindsey0 on Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Olivia 15 Cinnamon 64, dual-boot Win 7 Pro 64 SP1, Clevo W150ER 15.6" laptop, i7 3630M, 16 GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB/HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, Nvidia GT 650M 1 GB, USB 3.0 HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, HP Photosmart C5280
rlindsey0
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:12 am

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Why is my shutdown suddenly verbose?

Postby rlindsey0 on Thu Jul 10, 2008 8:05 pm

OK, I found this Ubuntu thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php? ... s+shutdown

I didn't try everything. First I tried cutting and re-pasting in the Login Window. That didn't seem to work. Then I tried removing the "-i" from the halt and reboot files (see post #37 in that thread--it just mentions the halt file but I did it in the reboot file as well). That seems to have worked! I just hope I haven't messed up anything else....
Olivia 15 Cinnamon 64, dual-boot Win 7 Pro 64 SP1, Clevo W150ER 15.6" laptop, i7 3630M, 16 GB RAM, Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256 GB/HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, Nvidia GT 650M 1 GB, USB 3.0 HGST 1 TB 7200 RPM, HP Photosmart C5280
rlindsey0
Level 3
Level 3
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2008 9:12 am


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 35 guests