Where is the Software Sources Window.

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read this

Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby andhraandroid on Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:24 pm

In Ubuntu there was a window that allowed you to edit your software sources from a gui. I can use the text editor but i have a separate issue ....http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=776889.... and the fix is apparently a pretty simple change of settings in software sources....So i was just wondering where it was. I couldn't find it in the administration panel. I even tried editing the menus to see if i could enable it somehow.
Thanks any help would be appreciated. first time on mint. Very smooth so far.
andhraandroid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:19 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby MagnusB on Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:30 pm

Open Synaptic, it is in one of the drop down menus, can't remember which right now.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby andhraandroid on Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:59 pm

There is a drop down menu in synaptic named 'package'. but it's locked down. meaning i can see the entries but i cant click it. I can't even find the unlock button to make it accessible.
Is there any way to launch software sources from the terminal
andhraandroid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:19 pm

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby MagnusB on Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:17 pm

You need to open Synaptic as root:
Code: Select all
sudo synaptic

You can edit the sources.list, can't remember where it is located right now, think it is /etc/apt/archive/sources.list
If you are bit more specific about your problem, we can probably give more specific instructions.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby andhraandroid on Mon Jul 14, 2008 2:46 pm

I've been using Linux for a couple of months now, so I'm not an expert but i am familiar with the terminal and have gotten used to editing sources.list via gedit.
This is my output after I run apt-get update.
W: Failed to fetch http://packages.medibuntu.org/dists/hardy/Release.gpg Could not resolve 'packages.medibuntu.org'

W: Failed to fetch http://packages.medibuntu.org/dists/har ... -en_US.bz2 Could not resolve 'packages.medibuntu.org'

W: Failed to fetch http://packages.medibuntu.org/dists/har ... -en_US.bz2 Could not resolve 'packages.medibuntu.org'

W: Some index files failed to download, they have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems

I found a post on the ubuntu-forums page that suggested a fix related to a change in the setting in 'Software Sources'. It's the last post on http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=776889. And what it says is
Click System > Administration > Software Sources
Click the Download From menu and choose other
Click the Select Best Server button and wait till it finds one.
Click Choose Server
Run the update manager again.


It doesn't seem to affecting the upgrading of any packages, but the errors are there and i was just wondering if there was any way to get rid of them. The reason I didn't post the main problem was because I wasn't sure if the problem belonged in the 'Newbie' thread. Also it seemed as a simple fix was in place and that all that i needed was to get access to Software Sources. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S opening synaptic as root .ie sudo synaptic seems to produce no change. The package drop down menu is still blacked out and i cant click on any of the menu items.
andhraandroid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:19 pm

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby andhraandroid on Mon Jul 14, 2008 10:24 pm

I seem to have managed to get rid of the errors. Basically I commented out the medibuntu repository thats listed in the native /etc/apt/sources.list. Ran apt-get update and no errors. After which i went to https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu and followed the instructions on the site to re add the medibuntu repo to my sources.list. It seemed to have worked.
I would still like to know if there is a way to get to Software Sources in mint, or if there is a way to unlock the package menu in Synaptic. More out of curiosity or anything. The mint experience is pretty good and smooth so far.
andhraandroid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:19 pm

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby MagnusB on Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:17 pm

I am glad you solved this, I don't have Mint my self right now, other wise I would have researched a bit my self. I think the package you want is excluded from Mint, I am not sure. If you are running Elyssa, GNOME DO is enabled by default, activate it (super/win/meta+space) and start typing "Software source". If it doesn't find it, it probably isn't installed.

My guess, by the way you solved this problem, is that some of the files may have been corrupted somehow (files related to that repo). Judging by that post at Ubuntu forums, I guess it is a common error as well.
Image
You're not drunk if you can lie on the floor without holding on.
--Dean Martin
MagnusB
Level 6
Level 6
 
Posts: 1255
Joined: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:39 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby xnef1025 on Mon Jul 14, 2008 11:23 pm

In Synaptic, install the package software-properties-gtk for Gnome or software-properties-kde for KDE and that will give you the Software Sources application in your Administration menu just like Ubuntu.
xnef1025
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:57 am

Re: Where is the Software Sources Window.

Postby andhraandroid on Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:31 pm

Sweet installing that package worked. Probably not going to need to use Software Sources as I seem to have fixed my problem, but its nice to know nonetheless. Thanks for tip. Also it looks like (according to some poster at other posts at http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=776889 ) it seems to be a problem with the medibuntu repos, they seem to be down in general. Which makes me wonder how my re adding the repos worked error free. Oh well smooth sailing so far. Liking mint, its like a customized Ubuntu, very clean right off the bat. Nice.
andhraandroid
Level 1
Level 1
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 1:19 pm

Linux Mint is funded by ads and donations.
 

Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot], monkeyboy, rbmorse, WharfRat and 39 guests